Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cd Problems
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
rfburnhertz
Just installed SUSE 8.1 and get the following error eachtime I attempt to mount either my CD player or my CD Burner.

"Could not mount device.
The reported error was:
/dev/cdrom: Input/output error
mount: I could not determine the filesystem type, and none was specified"

I'm not sure what to do, I am still fairly new to Linux.
I would sure appreciate any advice that any might have to offer.

My /etc/fstab concerning the cd player and recorder reads as follow if it might offer any insight:
"/dev/cdrecorder /media/cdrecorder auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom auto ro,noauto,user,exec 0 0"

Thank you,
RF
hughesjr
Are you trying to mount CD's with a file system or Audio / Video CD's?

You don't have to mount Audio CD's or Video (VCD, DVD) CD/DVD's to use them...

You may also want to change the auto file system type (the 3rd column) to udf,iso9660 and see if that helps.
rfburnhertz
QUOTE (hughesjr @ Aug 24 2003, 06:59 AM)
Are you trying to mount CD's with a file system or Audio / Video CD's?

You don't have to mount Audio CD's or Video (VCD, DVD) CD/DVD's to use them...

You may also want to change the auto file system type (the 3rd column) to udf,iso9660 and see if that helps.

Your all over both problems I posted, thanks.

I wasn't very clear as I left out almost all of what I experianced here.
The error I posted in my first post was because I tried to mount an audio CD. The reason I did this is because if I just open the app (KsCD) or click on the CD player icon, the app opens but does not see the CD.

When I mount for a data CD I get the following error:
""Could not mount device.
The reported error was:
mount: No medium found""

Anyway, I did edit /etc/fstab as you suggested.
Didn't work, but did give me a new error ohmy.gif which follows:

For data CD's this is the new error ->
""Could not mount device.
The reported error was: