Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Config Grub For New Disk Setup
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
applemaz
I have a 15 GB hard drive as master on my first IDE channel which contains the MBR for Grub, since the rest of the drive is dedicated to running Windows98. My slave drive is a 30 GB drive and is dedicated to linux, my swap partition and one other partition, which I am not sure what it does. The second IDE channel has my DVD and CD-RW drives as master/slave.
What I really want to do, is replace my 15 GB and 30 GB drive combo with a single 80 GB drive and somehow get my linux installation from the 30 GB drive over to my 80 GB drive and then tell Grub to boot linux off of this drive.
I tried running fdisk /dev/hdb and then used choice a to make the first partition on the 30 GB drive a boot partition. I then chose w to write the changes. I looked at /boot/grub/menu.lst, but didn't understand what to change so I left it. I then went into /etc/fstab and told it to look at /dev/hda3 as the swap space (because right now it is hdb3 on the slave 30 GB drive). When I pull the 15 GB drive, put the 30 GB in the master position and restart, I just get a grub> prompt. No boot. Why? I did this, because I was going to move on to my second step of cloning the 30 GB drive to my 80 GB drive and then I'd be done. Is this the best method? Also, why can't I boot from the 30 GB drive after making the changes? Please specifically tell me what I am missing.

Michael
hughesjr
OK, there are many ways to do this ... I think the easiest is like this:

1. Remove the master DVD on the secondary channel ... leave the CD-RW as slave and set the new 80gb drive as master. If you haven't already installed windows 98 on the 80gb drive, create the following partitions on the new drive usinf fdisk from linux bootup .... the 80gb drive should be /dev/hdc ... so fdisk /dev/hdc

hdc1 - 10 - 40gb (for windows 98) (change the type to c for win95 fat32 lba)