Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Installing Scanner Drivers
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
nameLock
I'm rather new to linux, this is my first time trying to install a driver.

I'm running Debian that i downloaded a few days ago and I am trying to install a Plustek scanner. I've been following an install guide on the SANE sight and i'm up to compiling the scanner driver. When I run "make all" however, I get alot of warnings telling me things are already defined, and lists of include files from both /usr/src/linux/include/linux and /usr/include/asm

here are some examples:
The first warning I see ( first I see gcc -Wall -Wstrict-prototypes.... -D__KERNEL__ -I/usr/src/linux/include -I./h -I/.. -02 -DMODULE -DMODVERSIONS -include /usr/src/linux/include/linux/modsetver.h -c src/dac.c -o obj/dac.o )
CODE
In file included from /usr/src/linux/include/linux/resource.h:58
/usr/src/linux/include/sched.h:71,
/usr/src/linux/include/mm.h:4,
/usr/src/linux/include/poll.h:10,
h/plustek_sysdep.h:94,
h/plustek_scan.h:61,
src/dac.c:49:
/usr/include/asm/resource.h:26: warning: 'RLIM_INFINITY' redefined
/usr/src/linux/include/linux/resource.h:40 warning: this is the location of the previous definition

This then continues with different files and things that are redefined. Later on the output starts looking more like:

CODE
/usr/include/asm/string.h:48 warning static declaration for 'strncpy' follows non-static

this continues with 'strcat', 'strncat', 'strncmp' and others.
in the end it says "make: *** [obj/dac.o] Error 1

Any ideas about how I can get this to compile right?
jetblackz
Please refer to the system requirements of the software. Does your box meet or exceed them?

Exit 1 = big error. All program will break. "'RLIM_INFINITY' redefined" means a constant's value is changed. That violates the rule. strncpy and the rest manipulate strings. I think the code isn't trying to do something it's supposed to. I could fool this code into compiling fine.