Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mandrake 9.1 Re-install
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
boomslang
I'm a noob so feel free to laugh at my post. I want to format my hard-drive. It's a dual OS setup with Mandrake 9.1 and Win XP on the same drive.

I want to format it and re-install XP.

I've been told that I need to create a boot floppy to get Lilo back up afterwards but the boot floppy function in the Mandrake control centre isn't working.

So I'm guessing I may have to reinstall Mandrake from the CDs. How do I go about doing this? Do I have to worry about partitions?
Corey
Okay, let me see if I understand. You have 1 hard drive with 2 partitions (Windows XP and Mandrake). You want to flatten the two partitions, make one partition only, and install Windows XP?

If this is the case, after backing up all the information you need, you can boot your computer using a Windows boot disk, fun "fdisk /mbr" to clear lilo, run fdisk, delete both partitions, and then create one big partition. Format that partition with your bootdisk, then procede to install XP.

Please repost if i have it wrong.
michaelk
Windows will ignore linux partitions. And you are correct windows will wipe out lilo from the mbr if so installed. But good news you do not have to reinstall linux.

So you didn't create a boot disk during the install?

You can use the console command mkbootdisk instead of the GUI. See man pages for mkbootdisk for details.

Then once XP is reinstalled boot from the floppy disk and rerun lilo.

Or boot using the 1st CD to rescue mode and then use the chroot command to change to your root partition and rerun lilo.
boomslang
Duende, this thread might explain my situation a little better:

http://www.techimo.com/forum/showthread.ph...ight=linux%2Fxp

michaelk, The 'mkbootdisk' command doesn't work either. Could you please give me a step-by-step guide to using the rescue CD option?
hughesjr
First ... are you using LILO or GRUB as your bootloader?