Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Linux to Windows Problem
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
ontpol
I have a question that deals primarily with Windows products. I know this site is for Linux users (and I'm one) but my problems is with Windows.

First I have been using Linux Mint for the past three years. I love that operating system and I'm always happy to re-instal the new version every six months. However, from time to time I need to get a new computer or laptop. I like to sell my used laptop or computer on Ebay.

In order to sell them, I prefer to re-install the Windows operating system that was on the unit initially. (It reached a higher price on Ebay that way)

Prior to swicthing to Linux, I used to re-install Windows XP regularly using an installation disk on many of my computers.

Lately, I decided to sell my laptop on Ebay and re-install Windows 7 prior to post it on the auction site.

I downloaded an .ISO from a Torrent. I burnt that .iso on a DVD to create an installation disk. It failed to work. It initialy started to instal but soon after it failed. I tried looking into the reason why online but didn't find much information. I tried the same .ISO an a few other DVDs thinking it could simply have been a bad copy or burnt too fast. Still it did not work. I downloaded other Windows 7 versions again on different DVDs. Same problems. I decided to put the .iso on a USB plug and install the .iso as an instalation USB. Again, it did not work despite trying different .iso's and different softwares in order to create that USB installation. I thought it could have been the fact that Linux Mint was installed on ext2 or ext3 therefore, I formatted the harddrive in NTSF in order to try it that way. Still, it would not work. The plug appears not to be detected and it simply goes to Linux Mint. (Well after I formated in NTSF it does not go to Linux anymore but it fails nonetheless). I get simply a DOS message about missing GRUB.