Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Problems Installing Mandrake 9.1
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
sjzabel
Hi,
After having many mouse/display problems with SuSE 8.1 I switched to Mandrake 9.1.

I thought that I had the easiest install of my life... but I was wrong.
I have a couple of problems :
#1 I was booting up using LiLO with the SuSE, however, I selected Grub at the end of the Mandrake installation. When I reboot it still brings up LiLO.

#2 KDE won't start; even though I select it to start when I reboot.

#3 I see all sorts of error in the load screen... I wasn't able to pick them all up, but I see that it isn't able to load all (or part of) my USB drivers. When it gets done booting, I get the command line version; however, it no longer finds my USB keyboard. I have to put in a serial keyboard which it picks just fine. The weird thing is that I had no problems using my keyboard during the installation.

Ok... I'm a newbie. If I was installing a copy of Windows I would have reformat the partition before I installed a new OS... but in Linux I don't know how.

I'm wondering if my problems are stemming from the fact that I just wrote the Mandrake right on top of the SuSE.

Any thoughts... I'm going crazy over here.
thanks,
Stephen
sjzabel
Ok, Nobody has any ideas... could someone at least point me towards documentation on how to wipe a Linux partition before installing onto it.

Or some documenation on how to unistall LiLO.

Thanks,
Stephen
Jay-Jay
Hiya Stephen.

Sorry, I can't help, but just to let you know that this is a candian site and so the people that run and help are candian . . . that puts their time at about 10 am . . . So, they won't be up yet. I'm in England and it's 4pm so i'm up and about.

I'm just finding out for myself how to reformat a partition for myself. So, if you can hold on, i'll post it up here.