Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mandrake Installer Can't Locate Cd Drives?
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
semicp
When I try to install Linux Mandrake 9.0 from a CD the initial setup screen loads however immediately pops up saying CD Drive not found and asks for the driver, it gives a list of about 20 or so drivers, but non seem to work. I am fairly positive it is because I have SCSI CD drives and it does not recognize them. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.
Jay-Jay
Hiya,

I'm a bit of a newbie myself, infact can't get X to work at all (awaiting a response to a post). I'm sure I / we all here could be a little more useful to you if you would be so kind as to gave us some more info about your drive? (Exact spec's would be great!) Mite be easy to find drivers (if that's the problem) if we know what drive you are trying to run.

Jay-Jay
semicp
The drive is a Samsung DVD SD-616T and a WinXP Promise Ultra133 TX2 IDE Controller that supports RAID and SCSI controllers. That was all I could really find on the DVD drive and the scsi card. Hopefully that's what you wanted.
Jay-Jay
I'm sure that some else might be able to help you better, but i'll give it a shot, might be worth trying.

One of the programmes mandrake 9.0 installs is a package called "mkinitrd". I don't know what you were running prior mandrake 9.0, or how your SCSI's were set up but it might have something to do with the way the kernal loads the SCSI adapters. The mkinitrd looks for the SCSI address in the kernal modules and can't find it because some generic kernals can load up SCSI's without drivers, as modules. To be honest I don't really understand much of the technical stuff so it's pointless me going on about it.