Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kdeadmin, how to install .tar.bz2
davenpam
post May 30 2003, 08:57 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 30-May 03
Member No.: 908



Does anyone have a step by step procedure for installing kdeadmin-3.1.2-0.9x.src.rpm .

I can install the rpm part but then what?



davenpam@megalink.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post May 30 2003, 09:14 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



You only need the *.src.rpm if you want to rebuild the kdeadmin package, which i'm guessing you don't want (most people don't). You need to install just the plain ole *.rpm package with rpm -Uvh kdeadmin-3.1.2-0.9x.i386.rpm . After that, it should be included in KDE for you.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
davenpam
post May 30 2003, 10:44 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 30-May 03
Member No.: 908



It appears my redhat 9 didnt come with kdeadmin so wouldnt I need the whole sourse ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 3 2003, 10:05 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



The source would be painful to compile and install

You should be able to get kdepim directly from KDE. try ftp://ftp.kde.org/pub/kde/stable/ and go into the version of KDE you have installed and find the Redhat binary package.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 06:19 AM