Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Trouble with sound after attempting to upgrade ALSA on Slackware 12.2, Sound problem on Slackware 12.2 after trying to upgrade ALSA
Xmetalfanx
post Dec 21 2010, 10:26 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 14,877

Hello, I have been trying to get a few things on Slackware 12.2 "dialed in" but am having issues. I am not a newbie to linux itself, although I am far from an expert. I am not going into why my mouse (USB) is so sluggest after I compiled a new kernel (First time I ever tried to do it) while the touchpad in my laptop is fine normal speed cursor movements .. thats a totally different issue

I have a Toshiba laptop with a "Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)" card (according to Alsaconf) .. The default install gave me sound and when I plugged in headphones, there was sound threw both speakers and headphones. there was no option in any mixer I tried for "jack sense" I believe its called. (headphones) ... I was hoping a new kernel would fix the issue but not optimistic that (kernel upgrade alone) would do it.

That's when I decided to try ALSA upgrade. I removed all existing (-lib,-tools,-utils,...etc) packages for ALSA and downloaded all of the ALSA packages from the official homepage of ALSA ..

the versions I believe are 1.0.17 default .. that worked ...kinda ... and removed) ... and now ALSA 1.0.23

I have been searching forums for a few days and I admit I could have overlooked the one answer that will fix this issue.