Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Cannot find second hard disk, Suse Linux fails to find or mount disk
Storyteller6666
post Jun 8 2009, 04:32 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 7-August 04
From: England
Member No.: 3,503



I have two hard disks in my computer. One is 500 GB, the other 1 TB. I have Win XP and Suse Linux ver 10.3 installed on the 500 GB disk. No problem.

I can access the Windows partition of that 500 GB disk from Linux. No problem.

The hardware setup in Linux says the other disk exists. But won't list it as a mountable drive or access it or files on it.

My question: how do I access the second hard disk? Is it too large for Linux to mount? Is there a workaround? Or is it something else causing it? I did add the 1 TB disk after Linux was installed. Would this affect it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
michaelk
post Jun 8 2009, 11:30 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



How is the drive partitioned and formated? What type of drive i.e USB SATA, IDE etc.

You need to add a line to the /etc/fstab file. You can find lots of help by googling but in a nutshell a fstab line is:
<device id> <mount point> <filesystem type> <mount options> dump fsck

example:

/dev/sda1 /media/disk1 ext3 default 0 0

See man pages for mount and fstab for additional help. You need to create a directory to use as a mount point. To see a list of how all of your drives are partitio0ned use the fdisk command (you must be root)
fdisk -l (that is a small L)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Storyteller6666
post Jun 13 2009, 05:12 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 7-August 04
From: England
Member No.: 3,503



Contents of /etc/fstab file and result of fdisk -l command are below.

It shows the second drive as being a SFS system. It is formatted as a NTFS system. Is there a difference? (both drives are sata).


/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_SAMSUNG_HD501LJS0MUJFWQ280816-part5 / ext3 acl,user_xattr 1 1
/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_SAMSUNG_HD501LJS0MUJFWQ280816-part7 /home ext3 acl,user_xattr 1 2
/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_SAMSUNG_HD501LJS0MUJFWQ280816-part1 /windows/C ntfs-3g users,gid=users,fmask=133,dmask=022,locale=en_GB.UTF-8 0 0
/dev/disk/by-id/scsi-SATA_SAMSUNG_HD501LJS0MUJFWQ280816-part6 swap swap defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0


Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x04470446

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 57643 463017366 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 57644 60801 25366635 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 57644 58662 8185086 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 58663 59171 4088511 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda7 59172 60801 13092943+ 83 Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x5a4c0cc3

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sdb1 1 121601 976760001 42 SFS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jun 13 2009, 04:52 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Your second disk a windows dynamic disk (LDM). You will need to download the LDM utilities
http://www.linux-ntfs.org/doku.php?id=downloads#ldm_tools
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Storyteller6666
post Jun 14 2009, 04:37 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 7-August 04
From: England
Member No.: 3,503



I followed the link, and the updated link, and downloaded the archived package. I didn't like the "You must know what you are doing to use this" message in the readme but will attempt to muddle my way through.

Thank you for the direction to work on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th November 2017 - 04:51 AM