Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cr-rw No Longer Will Mount, etc/fstab failed cannot stat dev/cdrom1
rayber2000
post May 15 2003, 12:29 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-May 03
Member No.: 841



After the last kernal update etc/fstab failes and my CD-ROM will no longer mount.
I am running Redhat 8.0 with the latest kernal and updates.
I have the CD-RW and a CD-ROM (the CD-ROM mounts fine)
The CD-RW was working and appears to have no mechanical issues.
The system lists the CD-RW Aopen CRW 1232 which is the same as it always has been.

I have made no changes to etc/fstab and everything appears to be correct there.

Any help would be appreciated
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post May 15 2003, 03:12 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



I'm not sure of redhat's mount structure, i'm guessing it's /mnt/cdrom and /mnt/cdrom1 ? Anyways, if your CDR-RW is on the slave on your secondary IDE, then try mounting it with:

QUOTE
mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom1


/dev/hdd = the actual device for the cd-rw, /dev/cdrom1 is just a symlink that may be pointing wrong.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rayber2000
post May 15 2003, 09:28 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-May 03
Member No.: 841



Thank you for posting a reply.
As root I typed mount -t iso9660 /dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom1 and got:
mount: mount point /mnt/cdrom1 does not exist

Any other suggestions?

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post May 16 2003, 08:34 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



All that error means is that /mnt/cdrom1 wasn't the proper mount point. Go into your /mnt directory and do a "ls" to see what other directories are there. Most distributions with two cdroms have entries for "floppy", "cdrom", and "cdrom1". If cdrom1 doesn't exist, you can just make it with "mkdir /mnt/cdrom1" then try to mount it again with the above command.

And, just for any future reference, check out the man page for mount with "man mount" there's a lot of useful stuff in there.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rayber2000
post May 16 2003, 03:19 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 15-May 03
Member No.: 841



Thank you so much for your help. I have tried everything you have suggested and still can't get it to work.
I read man mount and have researched this online and in other forums and still can't find an answer.
After I followed your last set of instructions (you were right about cdrom1 not being in /mnt, but it used to be) I got the following:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/scd0,
or too many mounted file systems
I am wondering if this issue lies with something other than mounting?

I still get the main error at boot:
etc/fstab failed cannot stat dev/cdrom1

This is my etc/fstab:
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/fd0 /mnt/floppy auto noauto,owner,kudzu 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1 iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/sda /mnt/usbbus auto noauto,user 0 0

It worked like a champ untill a week ago. If this is a mount issue I'm missing something and further help would be very much appreciated. I am usually able to fix things like this on my own by typing in the error in a google search but this time I am really stuck. Thanks again for you help thus far.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 09:50 AM