Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Computer Won't Shut Off, No auto power off
djk
post May 14 2003, 01:49 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-May 03
Member No.: 838



Just installed Mandrake 9.1 and all the updates. Mandrake won't shutdown the computer like it's supposed to. I also have installed Win2K on a different hard drive. Each install was done with only 1 hard drive installed in the machine at a time. Win2K shuts the machine down normally, but not Mandrake.

The computer is:
Epox EP-8RDA+ with the nforce2 chipset
AMD Athalon XP2500+
1Gb RAM
120 Gb hard drive
MSI G4Ti4200-TD8X video
3-Com 3C905TX nic (can't get MDK9.1 to recognise the on-board nic - RTL8201

I was not able to do an graphical install (would hang after the first stage), so I did the text version that went through ok. Had the same problem with an MSI KT4 Ultra-SR mother board and the same hardware as above.

I'd love to be able to find out what the problem is sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post May 14 2003, 03:11 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



What command are you issuing to shut down the computer?

shutdown -h now

usually works fine for me.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
djk
post May 14 2003, 03:43 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-May 03
Member No.: 838



I've tried shutting down through the KDE shutdown procedure and also using the 'shutdown -h now' command - same result - when the screen shows 'power down', nothing happens. It just waits until I press the power switch. As noted earlier, this function works under Win2K, so I'm assuming that the CMOS is set up correctly.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
frodo44
post May 14 2003, 08:29 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 95
Joined: 2-December 02
Member No.: 213



Does your kernel have APM Bios support built in? This is the driver that allows such a thing. If you are running a stock Mandrake kernel, it probably does have this built in. If you are sure that you do have it built in, it might be that your missing a line in your init 0 or 6 file. Init 0 is the shutdown script, and 6 is the restart script. I wouldn't know how to go about doing it, but you might go web crawling for stuff about those. Hope this helps,

Regards,
Eric


--------------------
Windows XP; Debian 3.0r2 (Woody)
---
Shuttle AK32 Mobo w/ Athlon XP 1700+ @ 266 FSB
GeForce 4 mx440 64mb
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz 5.1 Surround Sound
256 MB DDRAM
Seagate 80gb, Western Digital 40gb
---
weezle@charter.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
djk
post May 15 2003, 10:57 AM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-May 03
Member No.: 838



Do you happen to know what directory this script resides?
This seems to point me in maybe the right direction. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jetblackz
post May 15 2003, 08:42 PM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 98
Joined: 1-April 03
Member No.: 613



su
modprobe apm
shutdown -h now


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
djk
post May 16 2003, 09:16 AM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 14-May 03
Member No.: 838



Ok, here's where I am.... Am running the stock Mandrake 9.1 kernel, able to shutdown with the command line 'shutdown -h now' command. Did edit Lilo.conf for noapic (Lilo does show the 1024M RAM), no help; bios does support this (new motherboard, and works with w2k); still trying .......
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ted
post May 16 2003, 11:46 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 14
Joined: 4-March 03
Member No.: 513



unplug the bastard biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 11:56 PM