Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> brand new puter, linux help
shelby
post Feb 6 2009, 12:13 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 6-February 09
Member No.: 13,894



I just got a laptop in the mail yesterday and it has linux on it.. when I went to turn it on it went through all the data pages. But then it gives me a prompt that says [root@localhost/]# and I have no idea what im supposed to type to get it to start up.. I will send the puter back if I have to but im hoping someone might know what I should do. Please help! and ty for your time. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
michaelk
post Feb 9 2009, 06:38 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



So x does not seem to be installed. Did you boot up the computer with the CD or did you stick the disk into the drive.
Try booting up with the CD and hopefully there is a reinstall mode.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
shelby
post Feb 9 2009, 06:53 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 6-February 09
Member No.: 13,894



QUOTE (michaelk @ Feb 9 2009, 06:38 PM) *
So x does not seem to be installed. Did you boot up the computer with the CD or did you stick the disk into the drive.
Try booting up with the CD and hopefully there is a reinstall mode.

i tried bootin up with it and it did nothing...it wont even give me a menu.. or a thing sayin its reading the disc just the same data same screen.. looks like the dos screen on windows
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bblin
post Feb 10 2009, 09:21 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 10-February 09
Member No.: 13,899



QUOTE (shelby @ Feb 10 2009, 12:53 AM) *
i tried bootin up with it and it did nothing...it wont even give me a menu.. or a thing sayin its reading the disc just the same data same screen.. looks like the dos screen on windows


The Asus eMachines Linux has a desktop included and should not stop with a command prompt.
Someone has bricked it, or you must have a very bad luck and got a corrupted example.

You should have 2 CD,s with recovery images, but to boot them you must press F2 before it boot linux and change the boot device
to the cd. (eMachine Recovery Management CD)

I think you shall contact the seller and tell them the machine did not boot, and they have to help you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 01:05 AM