Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Startup, switch between linux and windows
ntrouble2
post May 12 2003, 04:13 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-May 03
Member No.: 827



Hi am new to this linux, so bare with me.

Is there a way to set up the system to get rid of the timer at startup. It tells me that I have 5 sec. to choose between linux,windows,floppy..etc.

Also i'm use LAN connection, will linux support it?

Thank you so much
ntrouble2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post May 12 2003, 06:52 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Yes linux supports lan connections.

However, it would be nice if you told us what kind of lan connection and what distribution you are using i.e Mandrake, Redhat, SUSE etc...

Yes you can change the timer settings. So again we need additional info like what bootloader you are using i.e grub or lilo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ntrouble2
post May 13 2003, 06:41 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 12-May 03
Member No.: 827



Sorry.

I'm using Mandrake 8.0
not sure what bootloader.
Using satellite connection (Direcway) for windows, but dont have it set up for Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 04:14 AM