Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Internet Connectivity Issues
DbLoki
post Oct 12 2008, 04:21 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-October 08
Member No.: 13,712



I'm new to linux (I honestly don't really know how to do much of anything with it yet) and I've installed slackware to start with (despite recommandations to try Red Hat or Mandrake first.) I've had no issues with the installation, and have managed to get it to register my wireless card (a linksys WUSB54GC) the problem is that I can't seem to get an internet connection, even though i'm connected to my wireless router.

I had to uninstall and go back to XP just to post on here and any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

If you need any more information just let me know biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Oct 13 2008, 06:45 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Are you using any from of wireless encryption?
Are you using DHCP?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DbLoki
post Oct 15 2008, 03:47 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-October 08
Member No.: 13,712



No Encryption, and as far as I know, no DCHP...I'm on a linksys router with cable internet....

I'm not really sure how to configure the network, and i've set up Ndiswrapper (I believe correctly)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Oct 15 2008, 07:05 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Does output of the command
ifconfig -a

output anything like wlan0 or ath0

Also the command iwconfig should tell if the wireless adapter is working. Also the output should indicate if it is being assigned an IP address.
Most routers are configured for DHCP by default. It will automatically assign an IP address to a network adapter and setup gateway and DNS IP addresses.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DbLoki
post Oct 15 2008, 01:19 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-October 08
Member No.: 13,712



It looks like wlan0, and it seems i'm connected to the router, but i'm not getting an Ip address
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Oct 15 2008, 01:52 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Try the following command:
dhcpcd wlan0

This will probe the router for an IP address.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DbLoki
post Oct 15 2008, 04:09 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-October 08
Member No.: 13,712



That command did it, but only till I restart, is there any to set it so I don't have to do it after every reboot?

Also, thanks for the help biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 10:06 AM