Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> Apache server after "it works", Web Server Setup
Scout
post May 10 2008, 08:23 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 10-May 08
Member No.: 13,461



I am a newbie using Suse 10.3 64bit, so please stick with me. I am trying to set up an apache web server and used the HowtoForge Suse 10.3 Perfect Setup. I got to the point to where I type my web address in and I get "it works" back. This is super except, what do I do now??? When I type my web address into a different computer, I don't get my web page but an error page, it says 'it's loading' and then says 'the connection timed out'. I bought a domain name from Yahoo Small Business, and I think this may be the problem. I don't think everything is communicating correctly between my server and Yahoo/web. There are several different settings that I can use, but I don't know which ones to change. What do I need to change on the Yahoo end (or somewhere else) to allow everyone to see my page?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 2)
michaelk
post May 11 2008, 08:27 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



So please explain your LAN setup. Is this a home commputer behind a router? Is this different computer that your trying to view web page on the same LAN or the internet?
Is the firewall configured to allow incomming web traffic?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mud
post May 11 2008, 08:22 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 13-December 07
Member No.: 13,194



I'm gonna make a few assumptions here..., like you haven't configured your "/etc/httpd/httpd.conf" file yet. Right?

If you have a domain name, it must be associated with an IP address, like "123.124.125.126", or whatever.
This should normally be done by your ISP. This could be a nightmare, and an expensive one.
Then you need to create some sort of website which you store in your /var/www/html/yoursite/ folder, and you must tell Apache.
<VirtualHost> is a good way to do it.

Then you'll need to configure your firewall to allow tcp/ip connections (port 80) to your box/server.
Etc... etc...

But really, read the Apache docs.
Yes, it's tedious, but in your case, a necessity!

Is this the sort of info you're after?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 07:09 AM