Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> cant mount my RAID 5
Luser
post Apr 25 2008, 04:52 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 25-April 08
Member No.: 13,439





long story short ive taken a vow to never install another version of windows on my machine. if it comes down to it ill just wipe the drives and redo it in my current OS (Ubuntu 7.10) but i dont want to do that as it has every document/vid/song/pic/animation ive DL'd over the past 7 years. nothing really irreplaceable but id like to keep it if possible, which im fairly sure it is. so. if anyone knows how to circumvent this particular problem, without loading a microsoft OS, id love to hear it.

pwease?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Corey
post Jun 16 2008, 09:26 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,254
Joined: 21-September 02
From: St John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Member No.: 3



Moved to Technical support

I've gotten this message a few times with my external USB drive. You pretty much have to do what the message says. The safest thing to do is to hook the drive up to a Windows machine and run a chkdisk on it because it wasn't cleanly unmounted. The easiest thing to do is force the mount using the command in the message:

First, create a mount point in /media (preferably one without spaces in it because i think this will cause problems

QUOTE
mkdir /media/foobar
mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/hdb1 /media/foobar -o force



But yeah, if this drive has important documentation on it, i would hook it up to a Windows machine, run chkdsk on it, and also change the name to something without spaces in it because "Local Disk 2" may cause problems.


--------------------
Corey Quilliam
(former) Linuxhelp.ca Administrator
cquilliam-AT-gmail-dot-com

Want to help out Linuxhelp.net? Check out our Linuxhelp Wiki and see if there are some articles you would like to submit!!

--
Ubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Work Laptop (HP-Compaq NC6400 Core2)
Kubuntu 8.04 64-bit - Desktop (HP m8120n QuadCore)
Ubuntu 6.04 - Server (I'm not upgrading this baby until support runs out in 2012) (Some old POS dell)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th December 2017 - 06:00 AM