Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> getting internet with laptop
noahbaby94
post Nov 25 2007, 10:14 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 13,162



hello im new to the fourums ive just gotten a poweredge 2550 server and ive put linux on it and im trying to get internet on it my plan is to take my wi-fi enabled laptop and hook it up to the main computer and im wondering how would i go about this?
thanks
oh and its knoppix 4.0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 25 2007, 10:46 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Not enough information provided.
Is knoppix installed on the server or the laptop?
How is the network configured and explain details on hardware. Do you have a wireless router etc.?
What do you mean by hook it up to the main computer?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
noahbaby94
post Nov 26 2007, 11:09 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-November 07
Member No.: 13,162



knoppixs is on the main computer
ethernet card on server wi-fi on laptop
with phone cable
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 26 2007, 04:55 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Lets start over. Please provide some detailed information.
You have Knoppix on the server, what operatiing system is installed on the laptop?

I am not sure exactly what you are trying to accomplish. Is the laptop connected to the internet and you want to connect the server via the laptop?

You will need a ethernet crossover cable connected between the computers if you do not want to use a hub or a switch.
Hopefully the ethernet is automatically detected but until I know the details of the laptop I do not want to aimlessly include information that would be
unrelated to your needs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 03:20 AM