Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> red hat and rpm
Grey
post Jul 30 2006, 11:01 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 6,870



I have trouble locating a dowload to red hat could somebody please give me the direct link to the installation package. Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 31 2006, 07:38 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Please provide some more information.
What RPM package are you looking for?
What Redhat distribution are we referring to?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dishawjp
post Jul 31 2006, 02:15 PM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 04
Member No.: 2,734



Grey,

Red Hat's free community release is Fedora Core. The current version is Fedora Core 5. Follow this link for some information and links is available at this link.

http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Distribution/Download

Not too sure from your question if this is what you're looking for though.

Jim


--------------------
Registered Linux User 294493
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grey
post Jul 31 2006, 04:04 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 6,870



thanks jim. But i have trouble mounting the iso images. I dont know how to install fedora by what they gave me sad.gif. I guess what im looking for is a guide to install from iso files. The newbie guide says to use mount -t -o loop but that doesnt work for me. i dont think i have loopback (i dont know i would get it).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 31 2006, 04:20 PM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



The typical installation method would be to burn CDs from the ISO images and boot the computer with the 1st CD. An ISO file is an exact image of the CD. You can install from iso images if they are saved to a FAT32 or ext2/3 partition but you still need some way to boot the installer. Either burn the 1st CD or via USB flash drive with the provided image on the 1st CD.

The correct syntax to mount an ISO image example is.
mount -t iso9660 -o loop file.iso /media/image (replace file.iso with the reall file name and use a real directory as a mount point)

To burn the CDs via linux you can use the k3b, xcdrecord or cdrecord via console, with windows Roxio, Nero or a free ISO burner like isorecorder. XP can not natively burn a bootable CD. With Roxio or Nero be sure to select "burn from CD image" or the 1st CD will not be bootable.

Post the link to the guide you are refering to.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grey
post Jul 31 2006, 04:33 PM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 6,870



Iso images guide this is the guide i was referring to.

I tried the command you suggested but it says only root can do that. which is strange because im the only user.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Jul 31 2006, 05:47 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Very difficult to help with out additional information. What linux distribution are you running? If running a liveCD like Knoppix then must use sudo to execute commands via root. i.e.

sudo mount -t iso9660 etc. etc.

As described on the ISO images page mounting an ISO is a way to see its contents. As mentioned in my previous post to install Fedora as a beginner it is best to burn the ISO files to CDs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dishawjp
post Aug 1 2006, 03:21 PM
Post #8


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 04
Member No.: 2,734



Grey,

Make this easy on yourself. There is no need to mount the images unless there are specific files you want to extract from the image. The most common problem is that peple burn a *copy* of the .iso file rather than burn an *image* of the file. If all you see on the CD is a single file when it's mounted, you burned a copy. Most CD burning programs have a way of burning iso images. Make sure that you're not making that mistake.

Once you've burned the images, verify them as the link describes using either the sha1sum or the md5sum commands. Then just boot your computer off the first CD, click "next" a few times and answer a few simple questions and begin enjoying Linux.

An even easier way, though slightly more expensive, would be to purchase ready made CD's or a DVD. They come free with many Linux magazines or Linux how-to books or they can be purchased separately on the internet. Either way, it will cost you less that $20 US get your hands on pre-made media. An advantage of the book/magazine route is that you'll often get very good install instructions in the book or magazine. Just be sure that you're getting a recent distribution.

RedHat hasn't provided a free download version of their Linux since RH9 and that's quite old, so I'd really recommend going with their free Fedora release by following the link I gave you earlier. Also, there is always a root user who is, or at least should be, separate from your normal user account. Even if you are the only user on the computer. This is one of the many reasons that Linux is so much more secure than MSWindows.


HTH,

Jim


--------------------
Registered Linux User 294493
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Grey
post Aug 16 2006, 02:40 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 6,870



okay i burned the fedora core iso to a dvd+rw using nero's burn image. Then i put in the computer with ubuntu linux version 5.10 (i have the latest updates) then when i go to computer and click on the disc drive it says that the disc cannot be mounted. So i rebooted the computer with the disc still in the computer and i logged on like usual. When i go back the the disc drive it says that the disc contains nothing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 09:58 PM