Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> RPM
mavcat18
post Jul 30 2006, 04:42 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 6,872



hey guys im new to this forum and linux for that matter so pardon me if this topic has been brought up before. I am trying to install a program on a Linux Red Hat 4 computer connected to an IBM (306 i believe) server. Its a relatively short install, i copy the config.txt file to the computer from CD, modify it, then try to run an install.sh file, but when i do it tells me that the .rpm files have not been installed(the .rpm files appear in red when i do the -ls command). i have gone into the GUI to install the files(just less room for error) and went one by one to install them and they all give me a message saying they have been installed however the install.sh file still gives me the same error? any help would be appreciated!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dishawjp
post Aug 8 2006, 11:16 AM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 04
Member No.: 2,734



Mavcat18,

The way to tell if a .rpm file has been installed is to give the command:

rpm -q <filename>

For <filename> substitute the short name of the .rpm file. For example, to see if the .rpm file

opera-9.01-20060728.6-shared-qt.i386-en.rpm

has been installed, give the command "rpm -q opera"

In this case it should return:
CODE
dishawjp@linux:~/download/rpms> rpm -q opera
opera-9.01-20060728.6
dishawjp@linux:~/download/rpms>


To install .rpms from the command line, "cd" to the directory that they are located in and type the command (as root):

rpm -Uvh *.rpm

and they will be installed. It's possible that your install shell script has a problem and the .rpms may already be installed. You could try calling the installed programs from the command line to see if they run.

HTH

Jim


--------------------
Registered Linux User 294493
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 08:02 AM