Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Looking for a version of linux that works with my computer HELP, Linux for new computer
chaos wraith
post Jul 13 2006, 11:57 PM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,759

I am a newbie in Linux and i also just bought a new computer. I am having trouble, first looking for whats best for me, I guess it varies from person to person. Anyway, I'am a ingeeniring student in college so i dont need too much, maybe later when i get too more advanced clases. I also dont have much money i use all i have in my school.

I have a HP Media center PC m7167c.
Intel Pentium D Processor 820 featuring two processing cores.
1.0GB 720 RPM Serial ATA Hard drive.
Lightscribe Double Layer 16x DVD+- R/RW drive with CD writer capabilities
DVD ROM drive 16x max speed.
Intel Graphics Media Accelerator 950 with up to 224MB shared video memory.
Integrated 1/100Base-T network interface
56K Modem
USB 2,0 and Fire Wire (IEEE 1394) ports
Front 9 in 1 memory card reader
Personal video recorder (PVR) with high performance hardware encoder featuring instant replay
Compatible with cable, digital cable, satellite and antenna.
FM tunner.
HP Media center remote control with infrared reciever
HP wireless keyboard and optical mouse

I started using a debian a friend gave me but was unable to recognize the harddrive, i ignore what version it was. So then I tried a Mandriva 2006 x86-64 which works ok, mandriva was able to recognize everything, but it freezes very often, especially when i open a program Amarok. I got very interested about Xandros 4.0 since its a new version and maybe it will have fewer problems, i also read somwhere that can modify NTFS partitions.
I am open to any suggestions, please help.