Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> linux on dell?
Raveneye
post Jul 4 2006, 12:31 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 6,689



Okey well My original computer broke so I decided to get my brothers old computer till I can buy a new one, well bad news. When I install linux on it and run it all I get is a blank screen with a blinking dot. Well I gave up on it and decided maybe the hardware is just not compatable or something. Well a few days ago me and a friend were just talking (he's almost a linux guru) and I mention what happened to him. Well he tells me it will work on my system, all I have to do is give the linux installer a certain command so it'll install it a certain way. But he dosn't remember the command!java script:emoticon('<_<', 'smid_1') so I'm looking here for answers. He did tell me what was wrong though apparently dell has some dos partition to handle stuf and it won't recognize my linux. If anyone knows anything please help me.

My system is a dell dimension L700CXE, if that helps any.

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Raveneye
post Jul 7 2006, 11:32 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 6,689



So is anyone going to help me? It's been on here for a while? well it's like some dos partition the dell has instead of machine code or something, and I just need to give the installer a certain command to change the dos partition to a different one or something. Thats what my friend told me. All I need is the command and where and when to put it. anything?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trio3b
post Jul 24 2006, 11:14 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 20
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,531



QUOTE (Raveneye @ Jul 8 2006, 12:32 AM) *
So is anyone going to help me? It's been on here for a while? well it's like some dos partition the dell has instead of machine code or something, and I just need to give the installer a certain command to change the dos partition to a different one or something. Thats what my friend told me. All I need is the command and where and when to put it. anything?

If I read your post correctly, you can pick Windows or Linux which means that you have Windows on the HD and I have heard that the Windows Recovery partition on Dell and HP PCs can cause issues when installing. I have loaded MDK on several Dell PCs with no problem, but that was on a fresh HD install. Mandrake has an EXCELLENT installer that can see all these partitions and can autopartition for you.

Yeah...that blinking cursor sounds like a hardware issue. If Puppy and DSL work, then you know linux works, its just that the distro you're trying to install is looking for something else. Try some different settings in your BIOS.

good luck
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th November 2017 - 02:21 PM