Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
> linux on dell?
Raveneye
post Jul 4 2006, 12:31 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 6,689



Okey well My original computer broke so I decided to get my brothers old computer till I can buy a new one, well bad news. When I install linux on it and run it all I get is a blank screen with a blinking dot. Well I gave up on it and decided maybe the hardware is just not compatable or something. Well a few days ago me and a friend were just talking (he's almost a linux guru) and I mention what happened to him. Well he tells me it will work on my system, all I have to do is give the linux installer a certain command so it'll install it a certain way. But he dosn't remember the command!java script:emoticon('<_<', 'smid_1') so I'm looking here for answers. He did tell me what was wrong though apparently dell has some dos partition to handle stuf and it won't recognize my linux. If anyone knows anything please help me.

My system is a dell dimension L700CXE, if that helps any.

thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Raveneye
post Jul 7 2006, 11:32 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 6,689



So is anyone going to help me? It's been on here for a while? well it's like some dos partition the dell has instead of machine code or something, and I just need to give the installer a certain command to change the dos partition to a different one or something. Thats what my friend told me. All I need is the command and where and when to put it. anything?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Raveneye
post Jul 14 2006, 01:42 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 4-July 06
Member No.: 6,689



Okey maybe this helps, Just disregard everything before because well I found out some new stuf. I just tried loading it on a friends computer thats the exact same model and year, and it works on his. plus the person I got this from said that linux used to work on this computer. So I'm confused. Plus DSL and Puppy linux seem to work on my computer. But Ubuntu doesn't, but it works on my friend's. The only difference between our computers is that mine has added memory and a better graphics card. But slightly better hardware can't be the case, can it. Well here's a review of what happens.
Linux boots but right after the load screen it goes to a blank screen with a " _ " in the upper left corner, and freezes. This is the same for ubuntu and LinSpire, but these both work on my friends computer. And oddly enough DSL and Puppy Linux seems to work. Any Ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 12:12 PM