Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linux Beginner Help Needed
Ant Lei
post Jun 20 2006, 09:06 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-June 06
Member No.: 6,583



Hi! I have just intsalled SUSE 10.0 (Gnome desktop) on my PC and there are quite a few things I don't know how to do. Please bear with me.

1. They preinstall Firefox, but it's not the latest version. How do I upgrade it? I have downloaded the latest version, but they only let me install it in my home directory. How do I install it so that I can keep all the plugins and preferences I already have?

2. I can't play dvds. They have Totem preinstalled, but when I insert a dvd, it says error reading from dvd. Do I need some packages for my dvd drive?

3. If I can make the dvd work, are there any region free software for Linux?

4. I am a maths student, I would like to do some c++ and LaTeX on my machine. Are they preinstalled? Or where can I get the compilers and do they work as in windows?

Thank you in advance.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g33k
post Jun 20 2006, 10:01 AM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 84
Joined: 18-June 06
Member No.: 6,568



[quote name='Ant Lei' post='27212' date='Jun 20 2006, 07:36 PM']
1. They preinstall Firefox, but it's not the latest version. How do I upgrade it? I have downloaded the latest version, but they only let me install it in my home directory. How do I install it so that I can keep all the plugins and preferences I already have?
[/quote]
Try the rpm from ftp://ftp.suse.com/pub/projects/mozilla/firefox/1.5.0.4/
If you want help on how to install the rpm.. go here or here

[quote]
2. I can't play dvds. They have Totem preinstalled, but when I insert a dvd, it says error reading from dvd. Do I need some packages for my dvd drive?
[/quote]
To play DVDs you need to install certain packages..Check out a nice article here

[quote]
4. I am a maths student, I would like to do some c++ and LaTeX on my machine. Are they preinstalled? Or where can I get the compilers and do they work as in windows?
[/quote]
c++ must be there in your system..to make sure if its there try this :
CODE
g++ -v

in a terminal and you should get an output similar to this:
CODE
Target: i586-suse-linux
Configured with: ../configure --enable-threads=posix --prefix=/usr --with-local-prefix=/usr/local --infodir=/usr/share/info --mandir=/usr/share/man --libdir=/usr/lib --libexecdir=/usr/lib --enable-languages=c,c++,objc,f95,java,ada --disable-checking --with-gxx-include-dir=/usr/include/c++/4.0.2 --enable-java-awt=gtk --disable-libjava-multilib --with-slibdir=/lib --with-system-zlib --enable-shared --enable-__cxa_atexit --without-system-libunwind --host=i586-suse-linux
Thread model: posix
gcc version 4.0.2 20050901 (prerelease) (SUSE Linux)


--------------------
-- a *certified* n00b

"The best is Yet to come !"

My Desktop : OpenSuSE 10.1 | FVWM-Crystal | MPD | Gaim | Opera | Mrxvt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ant Lei
post Jun 21 2006, 03:27 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-June 06
Member No.: 6,583



Thanks a lot for your help. I have successfully installed the latest version of firefox now. smile.gif

I have installed the dvd decoder package. The webpage tells us how to configure xine, but I only have totem. When I insert a dvd, totem starts and it trys to open the dvd. But nothing happens. What should I do?

I typed in the command for c++, it says command not found, does that mean I don't have c++? How can I install it?

Does anyone know how to use LaTeX in suse linux?

Thanks a lot!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g33k
post Jun 21 2006, 09:25 PM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 84
Joined: 18-June 06
Member No.: 6,568



Actually Totem is a Video Player based on the xine engine..in my system (SUSE 10) i just upgraded kaffeine after installing the libdvdcss and kaffeine plays DVDs fine..however totem cannot play DVDs !!
My Kaffeine version is 0.8.1 you can get it through Yast.

For installing C++ compiler..
Open up yast and do a search for the package gcc There would be a package gcc-c++ Also make sure libstdc++ is selected (if not search n select it)
Install the packages..now you should be able to compile c++..


--------------------
-- a *certified* n00b

"The best is Yet to come !"

My Desktop : OpenSuSE 10.1 | FVWM-Crystal | MPD | Gaim | Opera | Mrxvt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 22 2006, 05:19 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Yep - libdvdcss is erquired for encrypted DVDs. It is not included in most ditributions because of legal issues with a) the licensing and cool.gif US export restrictions (same reason Fedora and other US distributions dont ship with MPEG support).

If you are after a basic, but reliable DVD plater (which can also be run from the command line) have a look at Ogle. It's pretty good and should you get problems you can run the coammnd-line version and view the output to see what it's trying to do.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ant Lei
post Jun 23 2006, 01:24 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 20-June 06
Member No.: 6,583



Thanks a lot! I can play dvds now, region free, yay! I love Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 23 2006, 04:42 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Keep in mind that a lot of DVD players limit themselves to regions in the firmware. When you play a DVD from a different Region, the drive assigns itself that region, and usually has a limit on how many times it will re-assign the region, after which it just locks onto the last one you used. The only way around it (if that's what your drive does) is to flash the firmware, which is a bit risky.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g33k
post Jun 23 2006, 08:35 AM
Post #8


./configure
***

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 84
Joined: 18-June 06
Member No.: 6,568



Exactly DVD players make stuff secure and legal, for Sony CRX320E the number of times you can change regions is 5 sad.gif


--------------------
-- a *certified* n00b

"The best is Yet to come !"

My Desktop : OpenSuSE 10.1 | FVWM-Crystal | MPD | Gaim | Opera | Mrxvt
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 23 2006, 09:40 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



There is nothing illegal about chaging region however. Here in the UK region-free DVD players (the kind you conenct to a TV) are available in shops. I think it just part of the red-book standard, which is required for a DVD-device to get the little DVD logo.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 11:16 AM