Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> need help setting up a LAN
spiroth10
post Jun 11 2006, 09:33 AM
Post #1


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 21-February 04
Member No.: 2,431



I know it's almost heresy to discuss anything remotely related to microsoft in a linux forum, but I
used to have a network with my xbox while I used windows. I got angry at windows XP, and installed
slackware.

thing is, even though my modem (PCTEL, Platinum I think... I'm hoping thats my ethernet, and not dialup)
is detected under linux, no matter what I do, I cannot connect via FTP.

I know the modem is detected, as the KDE system info applet displayed an ethernet driver and the PCTel modem, so one, if not both, of my modems are working 100%.

To cut to the chase, I need to know how to setup my modem and LAN. Bear in mind, I have absolutely no idea where the modem is linked to, so I cant just setupn the lan right away, I need to know how to configure my modem first.

if any other info is needed, just ask. thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 11 2006, 10:49 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



So, the xbox is connected to a computer via a LAN card, and the computer has a modem attached. What kind of modem is it (internal/USB/Serial ADSL/Dial-up/Cable)?

Please provide the information listed in http://www.linuxhelp.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=5777

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spiroth10
post Jun 11 2006, 02:57 PM
Post #3


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 21-February 04
Member No.: 2,431



Ok, the modem is an internal DSL(not cable) modem. thats all I know, as it was added in there by my sister before she gave me the computer...

I tried to only use the necessary stuff from dmesg -- it was really long, but here's what I got out of that and lsmod...

dmesg

8139too Fast Ethernet driver 0.9.26
PCI: Found IRQ 10 for device 02:0f.0
PCI: Sharing IRQ 10 with 00:1f.2
eth0: RealTek RTL8139 at 0xd097a000, 00:30:f1:25:06:73, IRQ 10
eth0: Identified 8139 chip type 'RTL-8139C'
eth0: link down

lsmod

snd-pcm-oss 37032 0 (unused)
snd-mixer-oss 12280 0 [snd-pcm-oss]
keybdev 1892 0 (unused)
mousedev 4020 0 (unused)
usbkbd 2936 0 (unused)
hid 20836 0 (unused)
input 3200 0 [keybdev mousedev usbkbd hid]
uhci 24284 0 (unused)
usbcore 58732 1 [usbkbd hid uhci]
snd-intel8x0 18764 3
snd-ac97-codec 49264 0 [snd-intel8x0]
gameport 1420 0 [snd-intel8x0]
snd-pcm 55080 2 [snd-pcm-oss snd-intel8x0]
snd-timer 13444 0 [snd-pcm]
snd-mpu401-uart 3200 0 [snd-intel8x0]
snd-rawmidi 12324 0 [snd-mpu401-uart]
snd-seq-device 3696 0 [snd-rawmidi]
snd 30980 1 [snd-pcm-oss snd-mixer-oss snd-intel8x0 snd-ac97-codec snd-pcm snd-timer snd-mpu401-uart snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device]
snd-page-alloc 4716 0 [snd-mixer-oss snd-intel8x0 snd-pcm snd-timer snd-rawmidi snd-seq-device snd]
soundcore 3396 4 [snd]
8139too 13928 0
mii 2272 0 [8139too]
crc32 2880 0 [8139too]
pcmcia_core 39172 0
ide-scsi 9104 0
agpgart 43684 4

I *think* only 8319too, mii, adn crc32 are the only things related to the ethernet driver, but Im not too sure -- my last setup did not even include a high-speed modem.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jun 12 2006, 10:53 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The output from dmesg you provided only documents the lan card, it contains no mention of the modem. Dont' worry about posting the whole lot, we have a new server and I don't think there are any space issues.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
spiroth10
post Jun 12 2006, 04:35 PM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 32
Joined: 21-February 04
Member No.: 2,431



Ok, I found out some more info late last night...
My exact card is an Accton Technology Corporation SMC2-1211TX.

Is the problem that I have no driver?
I can run ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.1 broadcast 192.168.0.3 netmask 255.255.255.0,
and it registers as broadcasting to that ip fine (it's the xbox's ip), however, when I attempt to login via gftp, it says that the network is unreachable...

is my problem that I have no driver for the card?

as for the modem issue, when I look in kdeinfo, it mentions something about a PCTel Micromodem. I find it strange that dmesg doesnt record this. Im not sure which modem it is though, it might be my dialup modem.

edit:
OK, Im fairly sure I know what the problem is...
it's using the 8139too driver, which isnt bad, but when I broadcast, I dont think think eth0 is pointed towards my modem. (probably what you said above). I get a ping back... frommy own PC, and the xbox doesnt even notice it, as no ping is set there.

ping returns the message that the network isnt accessible, and Im pretty sure thats because it isnt going through at all...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 12th December 2017 - 08:39 PM