Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Internet Connection Problem, Can't connect to internet with Firefox
SCHawkeye
post May 23 2006, 08:55 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 23-May 06
Member No.: 6,424



I'm running Fedora core 5, on a Dell PIII, with 256 mhz of memory, and Can't connect to internet thru DSL with Firefox or Opera. However, I can connect with Konqueror. The only firewall I have is in the Fedora Core. What do you think the problem is?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dishawjp
post May 24 2006, 09:50 AM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 56
Joined: 8-April 04
Member No.: 2,734



Are you certain that you are connected with Konqueror and not with Firefox and/or Opera?

What do you get if you issue the command:

/sbin/ifconfig

Have you tried to ping a remote IP address? If so, does it go through?


--------------------
Registered Linux User 294493
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SCHawkeye
post May 24 2006, 07:58 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 23-May 06
Member No.: 6,424



Yes, I'm sure that it's Konqueror.

ifconfig = eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:B0:D0:CA:26:82
inet addr:192.168.0.4 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::2b0:d0ff:feca:2682/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:743 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:696 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:486781 (475.3 KiB) TX bytes:87233 (85.1 KiB)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0x2c00

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:2334 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2334 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2535783 (2.4 MiB) TX bytes:2535783 (2.4 MiB)

Yes, I can ping other websites.

Here's the route: Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.0.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
169.254.0.0 * 255.255.0.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
default dslmodem.domain 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 25 2006, 10:16 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Type "about:config" into firefox, and find the "network.dns.disableIPv6" option. Try setting it to true if it isnt already, that seems to fix it sometimes.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SCHawkeye
post May 25 2006, 08:49 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 23-May 06
Member No.: 6,424



Thanks! I'm answering from Firefox. Your suggested fix worked!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 05:29 PM