Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Maya 7 and Suse 10.1 installation problem
syntheticnoise
post May 23 2006, 05:19 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 22-May 06
Member No.: 6,411



ive got almost everything working and the only i need to install is Maya 7 on Suse

the instructions seem pretty straight forward but i guess im just not getting something...here are the instructions and see if you can help me out
------------------------------------------
Installation
To install this software, you can use the 'rpm' program or the UI-based 'gnorpm' program. The instructions in this readme file use 'rpm'.

For Example, to install all the required software using the 'rpm' program on a host that will not be a license server, from a root shell type:

rpm -i AWCommon-6.3-1.i686.rpm
Maya-7.0-#.i686.rpm
-------------------------------------------

ok...so i copied the two rpm's to my hardrive and did the first part....ok, it said awcommon is installed

then i tried running the second rpm through Konsole and i get a "command not found"

when i tried running the rpm's directly and not through Konsole i get this error:

ERROR : following packages havent been found on the medium: maya7_0

if you have installed maya on linux, please help me out...i need this for school laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
syntheticnoise
post May 24 2006, 05:53 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 22-May 06
Member No.: 6,411



bump
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 25 2006, 03:12 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Did you run the following commands?

QUOTE
rpm -i AWCommon-6.3-1.i686.rpm
Maya-7.0-#.i686.rpm


You need to 'rpm -i Maya-7.0*.rpm', not just run 'Maya-whatever'.

You should be able to run your program after that.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th December 2017 - 08:29 PM