Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake 10.0, Booting with GRUB Troubles
magnaflux
post May 19 2006, 04:08 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-May 06
Member No.: 6,397



I hope somebody can help. I've tried installing Mandrake 10.0 (Community Edition) several times and at the end of the install, I reboot the machine (AMD 300MHZ w/4.3G HD), at that time the monitor displays a command line screen that displays: >GRUB (and just sits there).
When I enter the command "boot" (or any other command), it displays a message "must load kernel". Now, I have the 3 CD set and it has kernel 2.6.3 on the the distro. What am I doing wrong, or what do I need to do?
Any help will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Bill
P.S.- can email directly also at: Removed by DS2K3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post May 19 2006, 06:00 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Just the grub prompt means that it can not find the menu.lst file located in the /boot/grub directory.
Is the drive just a regular 4.3 IDE type hard drive?
What are the other specifications of this computer?

I assume this is not a duel boot PC?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
magnaflux
post May 19 2006, 08:24 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 19-May 06
Member No.: 6,397



Michael,
Thanks for the reply!
Yes, it is an IDE Drive, and it is single boot, the OS uses all of the 4.3G HD. The machine has a 36X CD ROM(no burner), 2.5" floppy drive, 196M ROM, and the AMD K6-2(300MHZ) processor. It also has a 10/100 NIC card, sound card and 1.0 USB expansion card. The monitor is a CTX 1765 VGA.
I'll try the path you suggested. I used the command/path: boot /dev/hda.
If you have any more ideas, I would really appreciate it. I have been running SUSE 9.3 Professional on that machine, but I like Mandrake better.
Thanks again,
Bill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post May 19 2006, 09:40 PM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You can try reinstall grub.
Boot the 1st CD into the rescue mode
I have not run Mandrake in a while but the /(root) partition will be mounted somewhere under /mnt
Change to that directory via the cd command and then enter the following commands
chroot .
grub-install /dev/hda (assuming the drive location)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post May 20 2006, 10:47 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Mandriva rescue mode has an option that should reinstall grub/lilo for you. If you havent tried using Lilo, it might be worth seeing if it works.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 01:06 PM