Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Something's wrong with wireless Internet setup, Can't pick up any networks?
H.E. Pennypacker
post May 14 2006, 09:42 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-May 06
Member No.: 6,375



I can't quite figure out exactly what I am doing wrong while setting up wireless Internet. I've already installed drivers with ndiswrapper, but that's as far as I am getting. Kiwifimanager is picking up on a strong signal (my router), but it can't find any networks, probably because it can't pull an IP address. I've things up so that the IP address is automatically pulled using DHCP, but it apparently is not doing something. It doesn't add up, and I am getting the feeling I am doing something wrong.

Here are the steps I took:

1. Installed drivers with ndiswrapper
2. Selected DHCP client option, gave it the DNS Server number (192.168.0.1).

When I try to put in the Subnetmask, I am told the format is wrong. My Subnetmask is 255.255.255.0, and it can't be wrong. When I type iwlist version into the command line, I am told its set on channel 11 (which is the correct channel number), but kwifimanager, for some reason, is showing channel two.

Where am I going wrong?

My info:

PCLinuxOS .92
Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI card (Broadcom BCM4309)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 15 2006, 01:24 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



kwifimanager isn't the best piece of software.

Unfortunately, for most wireless cards (and ndiswrapper in particular) you need to use the iwconfig command.

iwconfig (this will show if any of your wireless interfaces are being detected)

Now, assuming the interface shown is wlan0

iwconfig wlan0 essid YOUR_WIRELESS_NET_NAME
iwconfig wlan0 key HEX_HERE
ifup wlan0
ifconfig wlan0 up && dhclient wlan0 (if the above command doesn't work)

Try that


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
H.E. Pennypacker
post May 15 2006, 11:08 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-May 06
Member No.: 6,375



iwconfig does show wlan0 correctly, and I did try your instructions, but unfortunately, it didn't work out.

First, when I type in iwconfig wlan0 essid "ssid name," it won't do anything. I type in the desired name, but iwconfig doesn't seem to listen to my instructions. After typing in the name, I once again type in iwconfig, and the updated name does not show up. Instead the ESSID is set on "any/all" or something like this. Why can't iwconfig go with the SSID of my router ("viruspreader" - weird name, yes, not chosen by me, though).

I don't have a security key, so I type one in, and I omitted that line.

Sometimes when I type in ifup wlan0, nothing happens. At other times, I get "Determining IP information for wlan0... failed."

Since that didn't work, I tried "dhclient," but that only resulted in "No DHCP offers received. No working leases in persistent database - sleeping."

Get this though...when I type in iwlist scanning, it shows me all the names (SSIDs) of wireless networks in the neighborhood, including my own router. If iwlist can pick up on these names, what's going on? Why can't wlassistant do the same and connect to one of these networks?

By the way, what is metric? In the wireless lan configuration utility provided by PCLinuxOS, there's a box that says "metric." The number "10" is in the box, and I wonder if I should change it. Also, when I check out the hardware for the internal wireless card in the hardware area in configuration, next to "Module" it says "Unknown" in red. That's strange. For the ethernet controller, it says "e100" as the module.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 15 2006, 11:14 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



If you can't set your essid, then the problem with probably with ndiswrapper or the driver you're using. :/

Try using one of the alternative windows drivers that came with your CD, or see if there is a linux native driver for your wireless card out there.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
H.E. Pennypacker
post May 15 2006, 11:19 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-May 06
Member No.: 6,375



QUOTE (Termina @ May 15 2006, 11:14 PM)
If you can't set your essid, then the problem with probably with ndiswrapper or the driver you're using. :/

Try using one of the alternative windows drivers that came with your CD, or see if there is a linux native driver for your wireless card out there.

I don't see what would be wrong with ndiswrapper, because no one else seems to be having problems with it.

As far as the driver goes, I've already used three different drivers. It doesn't seem there's much else to do there. But you know what..when I look up the wireless card in PCLinuxOS, it says "Airforce One 54G" BCM4318, but when I look up the card in Windows using PC Wizard 2006, it says "Dell Wireless 1370 Mini-PCI Wlan card" BCM4309. So, in Windows, it shows up as BCM4309, and in PCLinuxOS, it's BCM4318.

Also, the MAC in PCLinuxOS is different from the one in Windows. What's the deal with that? Regardless of what operating system you're using, the MAC number shouldn't change.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 16 2006, 01:34 AM
Post #6


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



When I say the problem could be with ndiswrapper, you have to remember what it is: a wrapper.

As such, the hardware itself may not be operating correctly with ndiswrapper.

BCM43xx? There's your problem. I have this exact same problem on my laptop (Acer Aspire), and from what I've seen on the net it is a ndiswrapper problem.

The good news is that there IS a native driver for bcm43xx.

http://bcm43xx.berlios.de

It should be included in the next 2.6.17 kernel release, from what I've heard.

Just google 'bcm43xx' for more help on it. smile.gif


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
H.E. Pennypacker
post May 21 2006, 06:15 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-May 06
Member No.: 6,375



I've tried everything I could possibly have done. I tried tons of different drivers, but no luck.

As far as ndiswrapper goes, its simply impossible. The entire installation process with Linux requires alot more knowledge than Windows. It's almost as if Linux is developed for advanced users. Well, I try to upgrade, but of course, I get a whole bunch of errors (something about distclean not being there or something). With Windows, you have an .EXE file do all the work for you without having to know what's going on the background. I wish there was an .EXE file for Linux that could do all the magic for me.

I feel I am somewhat close to giving up, because all the work that goes into Linux doesn't seem worth it. You know, you can deal with the viruses and everything else. The truth is that viruses don't create as much of a headache as all the work that goes into Linux (installing applications, setting things up, understanding all the errors, etc.).

I am in despair, but I'll try to do a few more things, and see how things go.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 22 2006, 12:45 AM
Post #8


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



http://unhandledexceptions.com/downloads/b.../bcm43xx.tar.gz

Try this the driver; I've gotten it working on my laptop recently.

Kwifimanager will not work; it has no idea what hardware you have, nor the ability to perform 'tweaks'. It's a solution that works if the driver is built into the kernel, and works normall. This will *not* help you for bcm43xx.

(after removing your current ndiswrapper driver, and installing the one above)

iwconfig wlan0 essid whatever
(this will not show up yet, don't panic!)
iwconfig wlan0 key HEX-KEY-ONLY
iwconfig (if essid isn't showing up still, try setting it once more)

Now run dhclient, and you should get an IP.

For some reason, ndiswrapper + bcm43xx driver needs the key to be set BEFORE the essid.

As for the rest of your post, you're certainly entitled to your opinion.

Would you buy a mac and expected Windows to run on it? Oh, sure, you *can* get windows running on a mac now, but you'd run into problems that would need to do more than 'just run an .exe file and have it do all the work'. I'm also wondering if you've ever had to fix a computer badly infected with virii/spyware; in situations like that 'running an .exe' does not do all the work for you.

You've obviously installing linux on a computer after the fact, and didn't check to see what hardware was compadible. This is not the fault of an operating system; Linux would support bcm43xx if BCM would release documentation about it. (Even with this problem, a group has developed a drive and is currently in the 2.6.17 kernel; you could always ugprade).

I'm certainly not blaming you for any of this; you're obviously doing your best to get everything working.

I can certainly understand you're frustration; look at some of my posts in 2004 re: slackware. They sound a bit like your post above. wink.gif

Hope the above solution helps you.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
H.E. Pennypacker
post May 26 2006, 05:04 PM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-May 06
Member No.: 6,375



[quote]Try this the driver; I've gotten it working on my laptop recently.[/quote]

It looks like a fine driver, because things seem to go better, but unfortunately, still no success.

[quote]Kwifimanager will not work; it has no idea what hardware you have, nor the ability to perform 'tweaks'. It's a solution that works if the driver is built into the kernel, and works normall. This will *not* help you for bcm43xx.[/quote]

I don't know if my card is built into the kernel, but it may be. I use PCLinuxOS, and when I go to hardware configuration, the module for my card is listed as "BCM43XX." That sounds like a positive thing, because before I upgraded the kernel, it was listed as "unknown."

[quote]iwconfig wlan0 essid whatever
(this will not show up yet, don't panic!)
iwconfig wlan0 key HEX-KEY-ONLY
iwconfig (if essid isn't showing up still, try setting it once more)[/quote]

If I don't have a WEP/WPA key, do I still have to add that line? I don't have one, so I didn't add that line. Nevertheless, iwconfig just won't let up. Regardless of what I do, it doesn't seem to accept my input, with or without a "committ" at the end. It's really frustrating.

[quote]Would you buy a mac and expected Windows to run on it? Oh, sure, you *can* get windows running on a mac now, but you'd run into problems that would need to do more than 'just run an .exe file and have it do all the work'. I'm also wondering if you've ever had to fix a computer badly infected with virii/spyware; in situations like that 'running an .exe' does not do all the work for you. [/quote]

True.

[quote]You've obviously installing linux on a computer after the fact, and didn't check to see what hardware was compadible. This is not the fault of an operating system; Linux would support bcm43xx if BCM would release documentation about it. (Even with this problem, a group has developed a drive and is currently in the 2.6.17 kernel; you could always ugprade).[/quote]

No, I did not check compatibility before I installed Linux. I know of the 2.6.17 kernel, but it's in development. Still, I can't upgrade to it, because I have to wait for the PCLinuxOS community to release its own PCLinuxOS sponsored kernel of that version. I'll see what happens.

Recently, after upgrading to the latest stable kernel release, and also upgrading ndiswrapper, I was almost there. I was really close to getting everything to work, to the point that the control center was telling me it saw the network. Wlassistant saw several networks as well. Unfortunately, they weren't able to connect to those networks, and ifup wlan0 would prove to be a failure. The same thing with dhclient. This is the weirdest thing ever...even unplugging the router and modem didn't help. I wonder if trying out another distro may help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post May 27 2006, 08:29 PM
Post #10


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



QUOTE
If I don't have a WEP/WPA key, do I still have to add that line? I don't have one, so I didn't add that line. Nevertheless, iwconfig just won't let up. Regardless of what I do, it doesn't seem to accept my input, with or without a "committ" at the end. It's really frustrating.


Is there any reason you don't use a WEP/WPA key? o_O You should try setting one, just to test this out (and see if it works).

Set a key in your router, and do the above commands.

QUOTE
I don't know if my card is built into the kernel, but it may be. I use PCLinuxOS, and when I go to hardware configuration, the module for my card is listed as "BCM43XX." That sounds like a positive thing, because before I upgraded the kernel, it was listed as "unknown."


Without ndiswrapper, a module is loaded that shows your drive under iwconfig? If so, modprobe -r ndiswrapper, and load the bcm43xx module.

Best of luck.


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
H.E. Pennypacker
post Jun 18 2006, 04:21 PM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 14-May 06
Member No.: 6,375



I've given up on the distro I had been using, and I switched to Ubuntu 6.06 (Dapper Drake). I was able to get the wireless Internet connection working very well.

Thanks for all the help. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 07:06 AM