Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Video Artifacts with Kubuntu
matt
post Feb 17 2006, 04:38 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 8-April 05
From: St John's Newfoundland
Member No.: 4,844



Hey Guys,

Just done an install of Kubuntu 5.10 (Breezy Badger). I'm Pretty impressed with it so far but im noticing small artifacs that travel down the screen. There barly noticible but there. Now I also have XP on the system as well and I ran a few games after I noticed it, just to see if my video card was over heating or etc. Ive never ran across this before. has anyone else seen it?


--------------------
INTEL Q6600 Quad Core @2.8
Evga Geforce 8800GT SSC Ed 512
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Deluxe
4G DDR2 - 1 750 Gig HDS
Distro - Slackware-Current / KDE4 / Window Xp MC
---------------------------------------
Distro - Slackware 12 MythTV Box
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
1024 Megs of DDR400
200G HD
Nvidia 8400 GT
Leadtech Winfast TV2000 Tuner
Antec NSK2480 Media Center Case
--------------------------------------
Linux User #384299
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Feb 18 2006, 05:22 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



IF theyre not ther in XP, then it might be a refresh rate problem (sometimes the electron guns get out of sync, and miss the holes in the shadow mask if the frequency is too high)

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matt
post Feb 21 2006, 12:33 AM
Post #3


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 104
Joined: 8-April 05
From: St John's Newfoundland
Member No.: 4,844



Thanks DS2K3, I think thats accually whats happening, Lowering the Refresh rate does fix my monitor. But since I got the nvidia drivers working again the problem disapeared. Only was like it with nv and vesa. Thanks for the knowlege.


--------------------
INTEL Q6600 Quad Core @2.8
Evga Geforce 8800GT SSC Ed 512
ASUS P5N32-E SLI Deluxe
4G DDR2 - 1 750 Gig HDS
Distro - Slackware-Current / KDE4 / Window Xp MC
---------------------------------------
Distro - Slackware 12 MythTV Box
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
1024 Megs of DDR400
200G HD
Nvidia 8400 GT
Leadtech Winfast TV2000 Tuner
Antec NSK2480 Media Center Case
--------------------------------------
Linux User #384299
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2017 - 02:36 AM