Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> partion swap space
ieatnoobsx
post Feb 10 2006, 09:55 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-February 06
Member No.: 6,056



ok when i am installing linux SUSE it says there is not enough memory to run linux. please enter swap space partition. i have no idea what i am supposed to enter. anyhelp?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Feb 11 2006, 09:41 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

I think when you are installing suse you choose manual partitioning, due to the fact you wanna keep your existing operating system.

Well then

you need, a partition for /boot ext3
a partition for / ext3
and a swap partition usual 2x physical ram formated as swap

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ieatnoobsx
post Feb 11 2006, 12:39 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 10-February 06
Member No.: 6,056



you responded to my question. nooo i want to wipe the whole system, start new with linux. any help? it would help alottttt. i want to wipe the whole system and start new with linux. am i doing somthing wrong?





please help me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Hemant
post Feb 11 2006, 11:52 PM
Post #4


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 782
Joined: 6-October 02
From: Trichy,INDIA
Member No.: 29



no man...just pop in your Linux installer disk into drive and reboot the system.

Just make sure that, when it comes to creating partition, create swap partition.


--------------------
Hemant Kumar
user posted image
hemant@linuxhelp.net
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th October 2017 - 12:06 PM