Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nameserver Question
chube
post Feb 9 2006, 08:33 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 9-February 06
Member No.: 6,053



At work we have a Linux box that is our web and email server. I did not set up the machine but have been maintaining it for a while now. I can get around in Linux but am far from being an expert.

The machine is running Redhat 6.2 and is configured to be its own nameserver. It is working just fine, even after I managed to change our domain name. My question is this:

How do I use this machine to be the nameserver for another domain name when the website is hosted on my home computer? i.e. I registered myhomedomain.ca but do not want to pay the yearly fee at the registrar's site for advanced DNS management if I can do it myself on my work computer.

Just to be clear, www.myworkdomain.com works just fine. ns1.myworkdomain.com and ns2.myworkdomain.com is configured. When I registered myhomedomain.ca, I used ns1 and ns2.myworkdomain.com as nameservers. The web server on my home computer works fine.

I have read a lot of documentation online but all I can find pertains to setting up the DNS for the original machine, but in my case this already works. All I want to do is add my home machine that has a different domain name and IP address.

I think I have to edit the named.conf file and add a named.myhomedomain file but if someone could give me some direction, that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank-you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Feb 10 2006, 01:43 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



I'm not sure how you would do it yourself - But you might consider using ZoneEdit, a free service which lets you manage DNS for your domain(s). Have a look at www.zoneedit.com

Anyway, are you using BIND, or some other software? That will have an impact on how you continue.


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th October 2017 - 06:07 AM