Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dual boot for FC2 and window 2000 professional, kernel panic:
jamesassociate
post Feb 8 2006, 10:21 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-February 06
Member No.: 6,049



Ho all,

I have dual boot for window 2000 professional and Fedora Core 2 in two seperate HD. Lately, windoiw2000 has been a bad boy becasue winmgmt.exe error message kept poping up. I decided to re-install the OS. (I really don't like MS that much but I need to run a few program under MS because I cannot find a suitable program for FC@.)

After re-installed and trying to restored dual boot, I got the following message.

kernel panic: -not syncing: VFS unable to mount root fs on unkown black (8,3)

Any ideas how I can fix it? I googled around, but I have a clear idea yet.

Below is the grub.conf

# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd1,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hdb2
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda
default=1
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd1,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
password --md5 $1$.LO.O2k7$RXe8HTuxus3iX4Rm8PeXV0
title Fedora Core (2.6.10-1.771_FC2)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.10-1.771_FC2 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.10-1.771_FC2.img
title Fedora Core (2.6.5-1.358)
root (hd1,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
initrd /initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img
title Other
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1



James
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Feb 8 2006, 01:31 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



How did you reinstall grub?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Feb 8 2006, 01:32 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



How did you reinstall grub?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jamesassociate
post Feb 8 2006, 06:02 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 8-February 06
Member No.: 6,049



I did not reinstall grub. I simly wen tot linux resscue, and issue the commands below.

chroot /mnt/sysimage
grub-install /dev/hda1

Then I tried to reboot the system. After that, I got the error message.


James
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 05:20 PM