Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Config shutdown, Add a script at shutdown
mahtay
post Apr 6 2003, 10:58 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 636

Yes of course I'm a newbie, taking a class at collage using Redhat 7.2 to learn with. As a final project I wnat to write a script that will run when
automaticly when you shut down - I've written the script o.k. but search as I might I cant figure out how to link it to the shutdown procedure, is there a way?
Thanks
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Corey
post Apr 7 2003, 08:11 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

Well, you can place the script inside of /etc/init.d/ directory, and make sure that it follows pretty much in line with the other scripts that are located in that directory (being that it handels the "start" "stop" "restart" "reload" parameters). From there, you need to install links in the proper runlevel directorys. If you look in /etc you should see the directorys: rc0.d, rc1.d, rc2.d, rc3.d, rc4.d, rc5.d and rc6.d. Each of these directorys contains scripts that either start or stop different services depending on what runlevel the system is moving to. Two examples of links can be something like the following:

[quote]
user@host:$ ls /etc/rc2.d
S90programX    K50programY
[/quote]

So lets break it down:

<S/K><n>Programname

S/K: Controls wether the services is starting or stopping during this runlevel. <S> Start <K> Stop.
n: Controls what order the script is run with reference to the other scripts in the directory
Programname: What is being run