Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> can't enter the system (Linux Mandrake 9.2)
twinkle
post Jan 12 2006, 01:15 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-January 06
Member No.: 5,961



hi
iam new in linux
i have my 3CD of mandrake 9.2 and i install the system in my machine

as this:

my machine have 2HHD the master is 20G and slave is 40

the master 20G have 1 primary 1.5G with windows 98 system (fat32) and 2 partitions as windows2000(7G) and the second is window XP(6G)
the rest of disk space i keep it unformated as i will use it for linux
i make 528 megabite as swap and the rest as a root(/)~4G
i run the install program .... and when i reach the bootlaoder selection
i choose the LILO and choose to save it at hda (the linux installed in hda8)
ok after that the install of system go in progress till finish then i reboot
then the bootloader appear with the options (include windows- which boot normally ni select)

all is perfect untill now

but the problem is that: when i choose Linux Option the system restart the machine
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
twinkle
post Jan 12 2006, 01:50 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-January 06
Member No.: 5,961



this also happen when i use boot from linux floppy boot disk ... as this: after loading the files from the floppy till the READY word appear the the machine is reboot after this

my computer have
VIA CYRIX III processor
VIA samuel 2
my display card is build-inn and it is 8 megabite

i hope to help me and thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
twinkle
post Jan 13 2006, 01:32 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-January 06
Member No.: 5,961



today i install fresh linux mandrake 9.2 in the same partition and i choose the GRUB bootloader and the boot device: hda

and the same problem is present

sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 07:16 AM