Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> major Install problem
stabface
post Dec 29 2005, 07:29 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-December 05
Member No.: 5,917



OK, I have been trying to install Linux on my PC now for some time and i have run into one major inssue none of the distro's will get past unconpressing the kernal. this is what happens

put install disk in driver
start computer
boots to disk, shows linux front screen. hit enter
starts to install few lines of test computer restarts.
startover.

i have tried all the boot types, no graphic no pic,

However i did get vector linux to install the system but i can't get it to boot up after install.

Compaq Presario SR1010NX

PNY geforce 5500 128 pci graphics card,
1024 ram

distros i tried Mandriva, Ubutu,Linspire, linspire live, and konpix

any help would help a lot,
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Dec 29 2005, 08:17 PM
Post #2


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



This almost seems to point to a hardware problem. Have you got your hardware checked at.


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stabface
post Dec 29 2005, 08:22 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-December 05
Member No.: 5,917



windows runs just fine on same machine
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Dec 29 2005, 08:28 PM
Post #4


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



hmmm okay well can you give any more detail on what happens after the boot cd is installed for linux


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stabface
post Dec 29 2005, 08:40 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 29-December 05
Member No.: 5,917



well with all distros pretty much nothing happens the computer just simply restarts.

however vector will go through the install setup and start to load up but then it stalls and won't load up something about modprob.old i don't have vector installed now. but when i did i tried emegerncy boot and made it not load any modules and still nothing happened. i can't figure this out.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Dec 30 2005, 11:13 AM
Post #6


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



hmmm well then I really don't know sorry


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Dec 31 2005, 05:29 AM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The computer just hard reboots (just shuts off)? If so, it is almost certainly a hardware issue. It might be that Linux is trying to use CPU frequency scaling or another power-intensive feature, which is tipping your PSU over the edge (Linux is currently more advanced than Windows, so it could well be doing things that Windows doesnt). Is the computer still in it's OEM condition (not modified since purchase) or has it been upgraded?

Try resetting the BIOS settings too (or loading failsafe ones)

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
docmur
post Dec 31 2005, 10:43 AM
Post #8


I Eat C Code for Breakfast
****

Group: Members
Posts: 276
Joined: 9-November 04
From: Canada Ontario
Member No.: 4,136



I never new Linux scaled the CPU. Good to know, I know this isn't my topic but how much scaling would happen to a 3000+ 64 AMD 90 nano. I only run a 350 W PSU on it, is that to small


--------------------
Gentoo ROCKS!!!!! Go and emerge the world
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Jan 1 2006, 06:36 AM
Post #9


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



CPU Frequency scaling has to be enabled in the kernel, so I guess it varies between distributions. I don't know much about it though.
D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 03:25 AM