Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't make dir., Plzz help
MoC
post Apr 4 2003, 05:43 AM
Post #1

Whats this Lie-nix Thing?

Group: Members
Member No.: 626

I need help, im new in linux, i have redhat 8. The problem is i can't run the command "#make installbin" the problem is that i have no promition to make a dir. in ush/shere. or something like that, i can't move files to root dir. ether, i can only put it in my home dir.
I am the only user on the pc, and i have installed all the packs. plzz help sad.gif

--------------------
Redhat 8. using KDE
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Corey
post Apr 4 2003, 10:27 AM
Post #2

Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net

Group: Admin
Member No.: 3

Security is a big issue in Linux. It is meant as a multi-user environment, meaning that several people could use the same system without compromising system security. Every person who uses your system, should have their own login name and password, which creates them their home directory (most likely in /home). A regular user can only write in their home directory and in the /tmp directory. In order to write anywhere else on the system (such as /root , /usr, /etc), you must be logged in as "root" which is the super user (or administrator if you will).