Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> FC4 and root password can not be recover
zillah
post Dec 21 2005, 06:16 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,538



I have got Linux FC4 , I forgot password for root.

How can I recover it through rescue CD1 (I did it through GRUB), but I am looking to do it through CD1

I used FC4 CD1 to boot PC in rescue mode

1- F5 for recue mode

2- Type in : rescue mode----press Enter.

2- chroot /mnt/sysimage

3- Sh-2.95b # passwd root,,,,the output was :
Passwd: system_u:system_r:anaconda_t is not authorized to change the password of root

4- I tried type in : passwd (with out word "root" see step 3)

Where is my mistake ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Dec 21 2005, 06:59 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hi,

So you remove that rescue cd, or whatever cd you have in there from the pc, reboot.

When the grub screen shows up you press a.

Then at the end of the kernel parameter you type 1.

For me this looked like this :

CODE
grub append> ro root=LABEL=/ vga=788


And the init level 1 version looks like this (this is what you want)
CODE
grub append> ro root=LABEL=/ vga=788 1


your line might be different ,but the point is you must add the 1 to the line.

Once the system boots up in single user mode where it asks for no password.

you type
CODE
passwd


and type in new password for root, then press ctrl-alt-del or type reboot

And don't forget this code smile.gif

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zillah
post Dec 21 2005, 09:14 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,538



Thanks Robert83

I had done it through GRUB before I posted my thread here.

I am looking to know why it did not work through CD1 (i.e I am looking to do through CD1 not GRUB),,,,this is what I meant by :
QUOTE
How can I recover it through rescue CD1 (I did it through GRUB)---
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Dec 21 2005, 11:24 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



An FC4 install disk is basically a LiveCD, with seperate users/groups to your isntalled system. It looks like the "anaconda" user (the one that the LiveCD runs as defualt) just doesn't have permission to modify an installed system's root password. If you followed official instructions, then they are most likely outdated. or just plain wrong.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zillah
post Dec 21 2005, 12:40 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,538



QUOTE
If you followed official instructions, then they are most likely outdated

What did you mean here by official and outdated?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 21 2005, 12:54 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



You can't change the password from a live CD when you chroot into the envirotment. The Federa Recovery CD is essentially a live CD.

What D is trying to say is if you got those instructions from Fedora (official) than they are either outdated (they worked at one time, but not now) or wrong.

In general the best way to reset a root password is to go into level 1 or single user mode (same thing) and reset it that way.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zillah
post Feb 5 2006, 07:31 PM
Post #7


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 19-January 05
Member No.: 4,538



I rested the password I was able to login without any problem after reseting,,,after while (I have not used Linux PC for about 20 days) I came again,,,i could not login!!!

Can be there is something (some setting mistakenly I configured it when i installed FC4) changing the password ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th October 2017 - 12:17 AM