Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kubuntu Network Problems, Kubuntu Network Problems
teeemoy
post Dec 15 2005, 04:40 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-December 05
Member No.: 5,847



I'm sorry but I'm quite new at this. I've just finished installing Kubuntu (KDE). Installation was quite easy. I finished setting up everything, hardware, software, and it worked just fine. I was able to connect to the net via router. I restarted a few times and everything worked just fine. Then I turned off the PC and went to sleep. When I woke up, I booted the damn thing and it couldn't detect the network interface anymore. I don't know what happened. As far as I know, nobody tampered with my PC. Can anyone help? Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 15 2005, 01:02 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Are you sure all you're cables are connected properly? Its a pretty rare thing for a device to just go missing.

Try running

sudo /etc/init.d/networking stop

then

sudo /etc/init.d/networking start

and post the output here.

I don't mean to insult you, but I am gonna guess that its a network cable or something somewhere. If not, the output from that should help us out.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
teeemoy
post Dec 16 2005, 06:31 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 12-December 05
Member No.: 5,847



no offense taken....like i said, i'm new at this....so i guess i'm still quite an idiot... biggrin.gif

anyway...yes all the cables are in quite nicely....the lan card lights up.....

i'm busy at the moment....i'll post the results soon....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 06:00 PM