Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> SuSE 9.3 Reassigning Network Devices, ...On boot...all by itself!
caznetworks
post Dec 14 2005, 05:55 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 14-January 04
Member No.: 2,140



Our internet gateway has 3 ethernet network interfaces - one for the LAN, one for the internet, and a spare which can be patched in should either of the others fail. Logic tells me that, on booting, the OS would detect and assign device nodes to each one in the same order each time. Apparently not!

Each time it reboots, it seems to assign eth0...eth2 to the NICs at random. This causes no end of confusion for the admin staff trying to work out which interface is which. More seriously, there are scripts which refer to the interfaces by their device name - for example, the one which configures IPtables for the routing and firewall.

Is there a way (I'm sure there is...) to force each card to be assigned to a specified device node?

TIA,

Alex
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 15 2005, 01:09 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Ok this is probably the oddest problems I have ever seen, and at that point I would probably pick the box up and trow it out a window. I completely understand the frustration.

However, I have no solution for you. This is one for the SuSE experts, that of which I am not, and I don't really think any of the guys around here are experts with SuSE either.

However, I would like to know whats causing the problem, if you ever get it figured out I would love for you to come back and make a post. Good luck man.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Dec 15 2005, 01:15 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



I thought about this a little here. And though I can't walk you through it I have an idea.

You could try turning off hotplug on boot, and manually load each module. That way you should be able to assign modules to hardware addresses which can't change. And as you assign the module they will get names like eth0 eth1 eth2 and such which will be the same each time.

Thats probably the source of the problem, so how hotplug isn't loading the modules in the same order each time.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 10:45 AM