Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zip-drive Under Le2005, Cannot mount
satuser083
post Nov 26 2005, 07:22 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



I've installed ziptool-1.4.0-2 on LE2005 but cannot mount the device. I've added the following line to /etc/fstat:

/dev/sda4 /mnt/zip100 vfat noauto,user 0 0

but when I try to mount via the Zip-icon I get the error-message

mount: special device /dev/sda4 does not exist

The zip's filesystem is FAT32. A tip would be much appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 27 2005, 12:24 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Usually disks are sda4 but not always, trying different numbers, or a different sd, you're probably best off just screwing around with the mount command first, then after you have it figured out put it the fstab file. You can look around in your /dev folder, but some distros have devices there weather they exists or not, so it might not be of any help.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Nov 27 2005, 07:16 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



The output of "dmesg" might shed some light on the device name.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 27 2005, 01:17 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



Jim, the drive is an external (parallel) device and there is no sda(n) in /etc, which probably explains the error-message. I've been told that a process (script?) called udev is responsible for creating the device-node; do you know anything about udev and could you hasard a guess as to why it fails to create an sda node?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 27 2005, 02:07 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



D:
I pasted the output of dmesg into an editor and searched on 'zip' (there was nothing), 'sda' (also nothing) and scsi - the only mention related to the CD-RW/DVD-ROM. Interestingly, I removed the line "/dev/sda4 /mnt/zip100 vfat noauto,user 0 0" from /etc/fstat and, following a restart, the zip-icon had disappeared from the desktop. I then replaced the line, restarted and the zip-icon had reappeared (I then checked dmesg); how on earth does the system know that it has to display the zip-icon just from this line, and yet does not allow the device to be mounted?? Somewhat confused unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 27 2005, 02:37 PM
Post #6


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



zip is the most likely canidate for sda4 so its just guessing that it is a zip.

For future reference, is you ever want to search through a block of text in the terminal there are two good ways to do it.

First is to just run dmsg | grep word that will return any lines from the output of dmsg that contain the word "word"

Second, you can run dmsg | less this will allow you sto scroll through it all, but if you press / and enter the word you want to search it will pull it up in context, you can use n to next through them.

Last, like you said you cat put it into a text file, but did you know how to do it without highlighting and pasting? dmsg > text.txt that will redirect all the output from dmsg into the file text.txt. The file must not exist to do that, if you do >> it will append to the end of an existing file.

Goodluck.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 27 2005, 09:51 PM
Post #7


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Is the zip drive parallel port zip module loading? I do not think it is part of the ziptool package. Check the output of the console command lsmod. Look for imm or ppa (its probably the first). If not then try loading it:
modprobe imm

http://en.tldp.org/HOWTO/ZIP-Drive-4.html#ss4.4

The zip disk filesystem is on the 4th partition and it will have a SCSI device ID but it may not be sda. Check the output of dmesg after you load the module.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 28 2005, 07:44 AM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



Thanks Jim, have noted your advice.
I was advised to include the line "ide-scsi" in /etc/modprobe.preload (to enable udev to generate a device-node for the zip-drive). I did so, but this may be wrong (my fault!!) because I forgot to mention that my zip-drive is an EXTERNAL (parallel) device, not an internal (ide) one. Do you, or anyone else, know what the entry in /etc/modprobe.preload SHOULD be for the parallel-zip? Perhaps that would get the mount to work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 28 2005, 09:00 AM
Post #9


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



Thanks, michaelk, tried lsmod and there was no imm nor ppa. Loaded imm with your "modprobe imm", searched the dmesg-output and found "imm: Version 2.05 (for Linux 2.4.0)", no "zip", "scsi" nor "parallel" (don't know how significant that is). Anyway, what do I have to do now to get the zip available after boot, following a manual mount?
Presumeably it's necessary to include the "modprobe imm" (or equivalent) in some boot-file or another? BTW, there is still no "sda(n)" in /etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 28 2005, 09:55 AM
Post #10


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



You need to load the scsi_mod, scsi_sd and imm modules via the modprobe command. Once they are loaded you should see a device created, It will be /dev/sda only if no other SCSI, USB, SATA or firewire device is connected.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 28 2005, 10:35 AM
Post #11


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



michaelk: modprobe csi_mod and imm worked (at least, no error message) but scsi_sd resulted in:
FATAL: Module scsi_sd not found
and no device (obviously?) appeared in /etc. AFAIK all the devices that you mentioned are connected in this machine (a Tosh Satellite Pro 4600) although none (of those strings) is present in the dmesg-output; I wouldn'k know where to start looking for any newly-generated device-node under these circumstances sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Nov 28 2005, 11:29 AM
Post #12


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



Here is probably why you cant mount or access your zip drive:

I use to use a parellel port iomega zip drive.

The problem is withing a kernel source file that needs to be edited
and then the kernel needs to be re-compiled. I had to do this
after each kernel upgrade..

I do not know if this has been fixed or if it will ever be fixed...

I'll see if i can dig up the file that has to be edited
and you can look and see if it was fixed or not to get the
zip drives to work or not...

by the way...the mount point should be /dev/sda4 which
is what i used..the zip drive is seen as a scsi device...
and all you have to do once/if the file i locate is corrected
is load the imm module and then place the "modprobe imm"
which i think is correct in the /etc/rc.d/rc.local file i think...


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 28 2005, 11:32 AM
Post #13


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



Thanks, chrisw, looking forward to hearing from you smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Nov 28 2005, 11:49 AM
Post #14


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



All of this is based off of Redhat...which was what i was running at the time..

Ok, first you need to be sure the kernel source is installed for your particular
distribution of linux...

Second, do a search for the following file: scsi_error.c

Next, open the file up in a text editor of some type
and search for the following code starting at about line 464:
The last line listed at the bottom of this code snippet is
what needs to be commented out if its there, if the last
line is not there then everything is ok, and all you need to
do is be sure the proper module is loaded for your zip drive
which should be the "imm" module, which will then load some
addition modules for you..

The ==> means this is the line you need to look for..

Hopefully this helps out...

CODE
       /* Last chance to have valid sense data */
       if (!scsi_sense_valid(SCpnt))
               memcpy((void *) SCpnt->sense_buffer,
                      SCpnt->request_buffer,
                      sizeof(SCpnt->sense_buffer));

       if (scsi_result != &scsi_result0[0] && scsi_result != NULL)
               kfree(scsi_result);

       /*
        * When we eventually call scsi_finish, we really wish to complete
        * the original request, so let's restore the original data. (DB)
        */
       memcpy((void *) SCpnt->cmnd, (void *) SCpnt->data_cmnd,
              sizeof(SCpnt->data_cmnd));
       SCpnt->result = saved_result;
       SCpnt->request_buffer = SCpnt->buffer;
       SCpnt->request_bufflen = SCpnt->bufflen;
       SCpnt->use_sg = SCpnt->old_use_sg;
       SCpnt->cmd_len = SCpnt->old_cmd_len;
       SCpnt->sc_data_direction = SCpnt->sc_old_data_direction;
       SCpnt->underflow = SCpnt->old_underflow;
==>     memset(SCpnt->sense_buffer, 0, sizeof(SCpnt->sense_buffer));


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 28 2005, 11:59 AM
Post #15


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



My fault.. it should be sd_mod not scsi_sd.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 28 2005, 12:59 PM
Post #16


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



michaelk: thanks for the info, I tried the complete sequence, with - strangely, because modprobe csi_mod worked last time - the following result:

[root@sthelens ~]# modprobe csi_mod
FATAL: Module csi_mod not found.
[root@sthelens ~]# modprobe sd_mod
[root@sthelens ~]# modprobe imm

I then checked /etc; sure enough, device-node sda4 had been inserted. However, when I tried to mount the zip, the system reacted with:

[root@sthelens ~]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip100
mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device

Nevertheless, we seem to be making some progress; thanks again smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 28 2005, 01:18 PM
Post #17


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Yor forgot the s i.e. scsi_mod
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Nov 28 2005, 03:17 PM
Post #18


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



QUOTE
michaelk: thanks for the info, I tried the complete sequence, with - strangely, because modprobe csi_mod worked last time - the following result:

[root@sthelens ~]# modprobe csi_mod
FATAL: Module csi_mod not found.
[root@sthelens ~]# modprobe sd_mod
[root@sthelens ~]# modprobe imm

I then checked /etc; sure enough, device-node sda4 had been inserted. However, when I tried to mount the zip, the system reacted with:

[root@sthelens ~]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip100
mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device

Nevertheless, we seem to be making some progress; thanks again


You should just need to "modprobe imm" and it will automatically
install a few other modules for you...


QUOTE
[root@sthelens ~]# mount -t vfat /dev/sda4 /mnt/zip100
mount: /dev/sda4 is not a valid block device


The above result is an error in part of the post i mentioned
above more than likely.....

follow through with what i posted in my earlier post above and this will tell if a kernel
recompile is necessary or something else is the problem....
more likely its possibley a scsi_error.c file issue and that the line
mentioned needs to be commented out...because it fixes the
"/dev/sda4 is not a valid block device" error you are having

if the line in scsi_error.c is there and not commented out...
you WILL NOT be able to mount your zip drive properly


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
satuser083
post Nov 28 2005, 06:02 PM
Post #19


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 26-November 05
Member No.: 5,782



michaelk: this is turning into a saga. I corrected the line, ran the sequence and... no error-message(s) but also no /etc/sda4. Very strange. Rebooted the system, just ran the second two (as the previous time), still no /etc/sda4. Rebooted, ran all three lines and still no /etc/sda4. Don't know what's going on here. unsure.gif

And, chrisw, there is no file "scsi_error.c" in my installation. I assume that is because the kernel-source is not installed. However, on the DVD there is a whole raft of kernel packages (which makes a selection somewhat difficult), and the one which I thought was the correct one cannot be installed because I get a "bad signatures" message. mad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Nov 28 2005, 07:37 PM
Post #20


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



yes you have to make sure you install the kernel-source package

do a rpm -q kernel to retrieve the kernel version: for example:

rpm -q kernel-2.4.12 <--- kernel version used for example purpose only

then on your cd find the kernel-source package that matches
the kernel version you have on your system....

that will install the kernel-source files which will include the scsi_error.c file
that you need to view and edit if possible....


if you cant get it to install from the dvd....try the update manager that
comes with your linux distro to install the kernel-source package....
for example...redhat uses up2date.

that might be the easiest way because it may install a few packages
that are necessary for kernel compilation....


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 07:49 PM