Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hostnames The Basics, Networking for Dummies
redg
post Nov 16 2005, 06:30 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 16-November 05
Member No.: 5,745



I've a problem getting the basics going.

I have two Debian machines running,

Firstly they can't see eachother via hostname, only IP address. This is a problem because my IP's are dynamically assigned.

if I enter http://hostname into Konqueror I get squat, this is bad.

else if I enter http://ipaddress I get the apache default page, this is good, but not good enough.

What do I need to install (other than Samba, just want to use NFS to share) to make my machines visible to eachother via hostnames?

Whoops, please remove the next two posts.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Nov 16 2005, 09:12 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,797
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Do you have a router or is your ISP providing the IP addresses?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Robert83
post Nov 17 2005, 04:02 AM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,439
Joined: 3-January 04
From: Germany
Member No.: 2,069



Hello,

I can think of only the following, make your dhcp server update dns dynamicaly...

so that your computers will always have the same dns name ... nomatter what the ip address is.

see the guides forum of linuxhelp.ca.


Or install samba, and set wins support = yes. That to will alow to ping machines using host names instead of ip address.

Sincerely
Robert B


--------------------
Robert Becskei
robert83@linuxhelp.net
--------------------
May the source be with us!
--------------------
AMD X2-3800 @ 2400Mhz
2048MB DDR 400Mhz
DFI Lanparty UT4 NF4 ULTRA-D
GeForce 7800GT
250GB+250GB
Pioneer DVD-RW
17inch Samsung Syncmaster 757NF
WinXP Pro (SP2)/ CentOS 4.3
--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redg
post Nov 17 2005, 05:10 PM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 10
Joined: 16-November 05
Member No.: 5,745



michaelk

I have an adsl firewall/router, the usual deal, 4 port gadget, this is my dhcp server.

Robert83

I don't know if my router can handle DNS, is that likely? probably not, I'll check though, they jam pack those things with features these days.

I think I've got my answer though, correct me if I'm wrong anyone. The only way to access machines by Hostname is to either run Samba, wich I am doing when Windows boxes are involved, or to run a DNS server. Linux doesn't have any equiv to wins unless using Samba? Wanted to not use Samba except for when I'm using a Windows box, don't know why, it just seems like the right thing to do.

Thanks

redg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
as2100
post Nov 20 2005, 08:57 PM
Post #5


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 27-January 05
Member No.: 4,595



I think the simplest method for trying to accomplish what you want:

1. Set static IPs in your router settings for the machines that use this router.
2. Add entries to "/etc/hosts" respective to the IP assignments.

This should satisfy whatever you're trying to do.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2017 - 09:23 PM