Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Question On Modems, Is mine a Winmodem?
Erik_the_Red
post Mar 31 2003, 02:19 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 31-March 03
Member No.: 611



I'm running Linux Mandrake 7.0 with a 2.2.14-15 kernel and I want to try to figure out if my modem is a Winmodem. First off, it is ISA and not PCI. Second off, if mine was indeed not a true modem (and I set it as tty/S2), would it even make a noise in Linux?

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
etshooter
post Apr 1 2003, 10:05 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 28-February 03
Member No.: 498



Dude, find a friend with Broadband internet and a cd burner and get Mandrake 9.1 before anything else.


--------------------
Mandrake Linux 9.1
1.33Ghz Athlon T-bird
64MB ATI Radeon7000
256MB PC133
30 GB WesternDigital HD
1 Clueless dork on the keyboard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
WhiteSpyder
post Apr 2 2003, 07:38 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 1-April 03
Member No.: 616



In my experience, Linux will not even recognise a winmodem without special drivers installed. If you did not install those drivers, or if linux didn't tell you you had a winmodem, I would guess you probably don't. Plus, if it is an ISA modem and linux can communicate with it, chances are great that it is not a winmodem. I assume there is a reason that you want to know if you have a winmodem, however. Is your modem malfunctioning, or are you just curius?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2017 - 02:09 PM