Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dhcp Fallback To Fixed Ip, How do I configure DHCP client properly?
GernotB
post Nov 2 2005, 02:40 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-November 05
Member No.: 5,700



Hi everybody,
Can anybody give me a hint how to configure the DHCP client properly.
This is my expected behaviour:
I want to have the DHCP client check if there is a DHCP server available.
If yes the IP address submitted by the DHCP server should be used.
If no DHCP server is found in the network my computer should fall
back to a fixed IP address rather than not assigning any IP address at all.

A config file snippet to put me on the right track is highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Gernot
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
as2100
post Nov 2 2005, 02:56 PM
Post #2


Grub-er
**

Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 27-January 05
Member No.: 4,595



A little more information could be useful:
First, what DHCP client are you trying to use?
Editing the 'timeout' function of your DHCP client configuration just a little would do what you need.
Second, Are you wanting to set this up on boot?
Could add a simple script to your rc (or equivalent) scripts to do this, as well.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Nov 2 2005, 03:18 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



What distro you are running would be most helpful. Pretty much what you want is what he system will do by default. It should check for a DHCP server, and if none found it will assign itself an IP. You can dicate what that self assigned IP will be in the config files. So what you are going to have to do is decide how long you want it to try before it times out. If you tell us what disto you are using we should be able to help you out.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st October 2017 - 11:01 AM