Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mandrake 9.1 And Tulip
megeddo
post Mar 28 2003, 08:07 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-March 03
Member No.: 599



hello all.any help with this would be great.
just installed mandrake 9.1 and i cant get internet connection.
i have a cable connection and a davidcom 100/10 fast ethernet card.
i used mandrake 8.1(bluebird i think) with this card and was able to use dmfe instead of tulip and it worked fine.
so i guess my question is how can i use dmfe instead of tulip in mandrake 9.1?it seems to want to use tulip no matter what i do(which is probably wrong).i have tried to do this in the mandrake control panel but no luck.
im sorry in advance if this post makes no sence to anyone.lol
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cha0s
post Mar 29 2003, 03:21 PM
Post #2


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-March 03
Member No.: 600



modprobe is your friend.
davicom 9102???
garbage in linux...go buy a realtek card...8 bucks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megeddo
post Mar 29 2003, 10:51 PM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-March 03
Member No.: 599



nevermind...i just installed mandrake 8.2...linux uses dmfe for the card..on the net now..all is good i guess
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megeddo
post Jul 14 2003, 02:51 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-March 03
Member No.: 599



ok..im trying mandrake 9.1 again..still the same problem,
i have davicom ethernet card and mandrake installs the tulip driver for it when i know it needs dmfe. in 8.2 i can install dmfe for the card from the mandrake control center but in 9.1 it simply will not install it. i have been trying for months (see the dates on my last post on this) and havent been able to get any help on this other than "buy a new card".so.....how the heck does one install the dmfe module in mandrake 9.1?someone must know the answer to this and it would be GREATLY appreciated.

thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 14 2003, 09:06 AM
Post #5


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



The module is probably already there in 9.1. Just use the modprobe command to activate it and then configure the nic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megeddo
post Jul 15 2003, 03:46 AM
Post #6


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-March 03
Member No.: 599



i just had to edit the /etc/modules.conf .....lol so simple yet so hard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Joey
post Jul 15 2003, 07:09 AM
Post #7


LinuxHelp Admin
*******

Group: Admin
Posts: 1,096
Joined: 18-September 02
Member No.: 1



Just curious, when you installed 8.1 did it properly configure the card for you?

If it's not configuring the card in 9.1 you should probably contact mandrake and let them know. They might have broke something etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
megeddo
post Jul 15 2003, 02:04 PM
Post #8


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 28-March 03
Member No.: 599



yup in bluebird it installed no problem...thats why i was confused on why it wasnt working
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2017 - 08:53 AM