Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mouse Problem With Mandrake 10.1, No mouse works
Trevor4706
post Oct 5 2005, 08:40 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 5-October 05
Member No.: 5,595



I am new to Linux and just installed a Mandrake 10.1 distribution I downloaded as iso files. Installation was a breeze on my old Celeron 266 Mhz, 512 M Ram PC clone except for one thing -- I have not been able to get any mouse to work. The cursor remains firmly frozen in mid-screen. The computer has only a serial mouse port (no PS/2), and I have tried true Serial mice (Luxor 3-button) and PS/2 mice (Kensington 2-button) through a PS/2 to serial adaptor. When I run drakconf through a command-line window it appears Manadrake has correctly identified the type of mouse installed in a generic way, but the mouse stubbornly refuses to activate. The computer has USB ports and it appears Mandarake has correctly identified and installed USB support, but none of my USB mice will work either.

I have re-installed Mandrake twice with exactly the same result.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Oct 5 2005, 10:41 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Troubleshooting a usb mouse is probably easier.

First, login as root, and issue the command "tail -f /var/log/messages" (in a console). Then, plug in the usb mouse. Hopefully, you will see some messages on the screen detailing the detection process. If not, check that the USB drive is enabled and that the mouse does actually work correctly. USB is annoying in so much as that they sometimes require vigourous wiggling to get a decent connection.

If something shows up, post it here and it might shed some light on the situation.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trevor4706
post Oct 6 2005, 08:23 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 5-October 05
Member No.: 5,595



DS2K3

Thanks for your prompt reply. I tried what you suggested but, either due to my unfamiliarity with Linux's command line interface or some other problem, I could not get the info you suggested (I've been around since DOS 3, so I am familiar with command lines in general). I received an error message something like "Unable to provide the information".

I thought Mandrake might be a bit too new for my old machine, so I downloaded and installed Fedora FC 1 yesterday after noon. Fedora's graphical installation interface allowed for use of the serial mouse during the install and, guess what, it worked as advertised. Then I did the first boot into Fedora and ... the darn mouse is frozen again!!! I'm not familair enough with Fedora to know how to get into the mouse configuration via command line, but will try later today I'll also give the USB mouse a try as well.

A perplexed Linux newbie
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Oct 6 2005, 11:50 AM
Post #4


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



Did you try running it as root? (You can use the "su -" command to get root-permission from a normal terminal). A lot of ditros make /var/log/messages readble only to root.

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Trevor4706
post Oct 6 2005, 05:21 PM
Post #5


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 5-October 05
Member No.: 5,595



D

I'm sorry I didnt make that clear. Yes, after much thumbing through "Linux for Dummies" I discovered how to log in as root, and was successful in doing so. I received the error message while logged in as root.

At any rate, on my third attempt at installing Fedora FC1 (Yarrow) I was successful, and now have a fully functioning Linux system with which to play.

Thanks for your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 02:28 AM