Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dvd Freezes Novell Linux
fullur
post Sep 24 2005, 08:23 PM
Post #1


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-September 05
Member No.: 5,549



I am using Novell Desktop Linux. Whenever I insert a DVD into the drive while it is running, the system locks up. When I start the workstation with a disk already inserted, it works until I log in and then once login is complete it freezes. The same dvds have no adverse affect on windows xp. These are data dvds. No autorun on them. Any idea what is going on? Any help is much appreciated. Thank you.

Phillip
Linux Newbie doesn't begin to describe it


--------------------
Fedora Core 5
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
768 MB PC266 RAM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fullur
post Sep 26 2005, 02:08 PM
Post #2


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-September 05
Member No.: 5,549



Since this is apparently not the right place to ask this question, could someone please point me to the right place?


--------------------
Fedora Core 5
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
768 MB PC266 RAM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Sep 26 2005, 09:15 PM
Post #3


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



Sorry...
I am not real familar SuSE AKA Novell. I searched a few linux forums and did a basic google but could not find anything that would help. However, I would try disabling automount and see what happens. You will need to manually edit your /etc/fstab file.

change:
/dev/dvd /media/dvd subfs fs=cdfss,ro,procuid,nosuid,nodev,exec,iocharset=utf8 0 0
to
/dev/dvd /media/dvd auto ro,noauto,user,exec,iocharset=utf8 0 0

BTW have you checked Novell's website for any solutions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fullur
post Sep 27 2005, 01:03 AM
Post #4


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-September 05
Member No.: 5,549



I appreciate your assistance. I made the change and the system no longer freezes up. My problem now is that I am not sure how to mount the disks. tongue.gif


--------------------
Fedora Core 5
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
768 MB PC266 RAM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
michaelk
post Sep 27 2005, 06:33 AM
Post #5


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,800
Joined: 23-January 03
Member No.: 360



In a console window type the following command:
mount /media/dvd
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fullur
post Sep 27 2005, 03:00 PM
Post #6


./configure
***

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 24-September 05
Member No.: 5,549



Could have sworn I had tried that before. But, seeing as it worked this time and had not before I would guess that I had not. tongue.gif So one final question. Could you explain to me what those command line switches did or point me to a place where I could find this info please. Thank you very much for your help. biggrin.gif


--------------------
Fedora Core 5
AMD Athlon XP 2400+
768 MB PC266 RAM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 13th December 2017 - 01:54 PM