Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Suse9.3 Internet Problem
Blade301
post Aug 28 2005, 10:30 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 28-August 05
Member No.: 5,448



Ok so i installed suse9.3 and for some reason I can not get on the internet. I am using a SB4100 Cable Modem. suse recognizes it and everything. I just cant get onto the internet. I talked to the people at RoadRunner (my Internet Service Provider) and they told me this
"Please note that your connection is configured dynamically, that is, you do not have a static or assigned IP address. Your DNS server addresses are provided by our DHCP server, and your connection is not bound to the MAC address of a network card. Road Runner does not assign host or domain names, so you need not manually input these names. These network settings should be used regardless of the operating system."

IFCONFIG gave me this:

inet6 addr: fe80::2e0:b8ff:fe50:38a9/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:13 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:4590 (4.4 Kb)

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:BD:F6:66:73
inet addr:24.162.201.74 Bcast:255.255.255.255 Mask:255.255.248.0
inet6 addr: fe80::204:bdff:fef6:6673/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST NOTRAILERS RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:7370 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:206 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:348675 (340.5 Kb) TX bytes:22906 (22.3 Kb)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:52 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3360 (3.2 Kb) TX bytes:3360 (3.2 Kb)

RESOLVE.CONF gave me this

domain site


Please Help Me out. Sorry post is so long.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DS2K3
post Aug 28 2005, 10:40 AM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,284
Joined: 14-November 04
From: Southampton, Hampshire
Member No.: 4,165



It looks like you might be connected to the internet. Try pinging yahoo, opena console and type "ping www.yahoo.com" failing that, try "ping 68.142.226.44"

D


--------------------
Fixed your problem? Let us know!
richard@linuxhelp.net

www.Gathr.co.uk Online Event Management
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blade301
post Aug 28 2005, 10:44 AM
Post #3


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 28-August 05
Member No.: 5,448



It says network is unreachable
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Blade301
post Aug 28 2005, 11:25 AM
Post #4


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 28-August 05
Member No.: 5,448



Fixed it now. Had to delete one of my eth devices. Thanks for all the Help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th December 2017 - 07:38 PM