Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Suse Linux Pro Installation, installation
ztips
post Aug 18 2005, 04:06 PM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 18-August 05
Member No.: 5,404



First I am a newbie, I have bought SUSE LINUX PRO by Novell, it said there is installation phone help, but did find out that I was wrong, all kinds excuses about resetting Bios, that is why they can not help.
I insert Disk 1, rebooted the computer nothing happens, was told to change something in Bios so it will start from a CD.
That is why I am here, hoping somebody out there could help me getting started.
Any help will be appreciated
Thank you ztips
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jim
post Aug 18 2005, 05:09 PM
Post #2


Its GNU/Linuxhelp.net
*******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 1,280
Joined: 19-November 03
From: University of Minnesota- TC
Member No.: 1,828



Your CD-ROM probably isn't in your boot order. When you computer boots there is a specific order of devices that it checks to boot from. Who ever set up your computer probably took the CD-ROM out of the order to speed up the boot processes in general.

Reboot your computer and you should see a screen that says "Press ___ to enter setup" That blank will be something like F2 or Del or who knows. Press it and you will get into your setup screen. You are looking for the boot order settings. You need to move your CD-ROM either back into the boot order period, or move it infront of your hard drive.

If you can't figure it out, you need to tell me what kind of computer and what kind of BIOS you have if I am going to be able to write more specific instructions. Good luck.


--------------------
--Jim Lester
jim@linuxhelp.net

Distro: Gentoo
System: AMD Athlon 3000+ XP 2.166 GHz
NVIDIA nForce2 IGP Chipset
1GB 333 MHz DDR SDRAM
NVIDIA nForce2 Dual Head 64 MB Graphics

Server Distro: CentOS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Termina
post Aug 19 2005, 10:36 AM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Support Specialist
Posts: 862
Joined: 18-February 04
From: Wisconsin
Member No.: 2,404



Start up your computer.

You will either see:
1) A black screen with white text, with techincal information
2) A graphical/logo screen

Either way, try the following keys during this time:
F1 through F12
Delete (not Backspace)

You should enter a new screen (which will probably be blue with yellow text).

Find an area that talks about "Boot", and make sure that 'ATAPI CD-ROM' is set to 'First Boot Device'

Hope this helps!


--------------------
*Points finger at the author above him* They're a witch! Burn them!
---
Vist my website!
Join me in IRC! Server: st0rage.org Channel: #UnhandledExceptions
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 15th December 2017 - 03:30 AM