Linux Help
guides forums blogs
Home Desktops Distributions ISO Images Logos Newbies Reviews Software Support & Resources Linuxhelp Wiki

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )



Advanced DNS Management
New ZoneEdit. New Managment.

FREE DNS Is Back

Sign Up Now
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Adding Default Gateway ?, Adding Default Gateway ?
scooby_doo_do
post Mar 14 2003, 05:25 AM
Post #1


Whats this Lie-nix Thing?
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 5-March 03
Member No.: 518



Hi, i'm having trouble (Being new to all this) adding the default gw to a exsiting config.

When i run the netstat -rn command i can get a ip address and netmask but the default gw is blank ? So how can i add the whole line in and make it a permanant change ?

Thanks..

Craig.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Mar 14 2003, 10:59 AM
Post #2


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



if you are running redhat
you can edit the following file

network

which is locate in the following folder

/etc/sysconfig

open the file in a text editor
and look for a line that reads:

gateway=<ip address>

if there is not a line like the above

add it, replacing <ip address> with your gateway ip


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chrisw
post Mar 14 2003, 12:01 PM
Post #3


RMS is my Hero
******

Group: Admin
Posts: 634
Joined: 27-September 02
From: Louisiana
Member No.: 5



if that doesnt work...i usually just run through the network
configuration setup again.....like wise if you are running
redhat ...in command line mode...
just type:

setup

then,

find the option in the list to configure network...and that will
reset things, gateway and all


--------------------

Chris W.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th October 2017 - 03:36 PM